Parliament Website

Future Of Access To High-Cost Drugs For Rare Diseases

EDM number 468 in 2013-14, proposed by David Anderson on 03/09/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases and Health services.

That this House welcomes the new report by the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Muscular Dystrophy supported by the Muscular Dystrophy Campaign on raising the issue of access to high-cost drugs for rare diseases; notes that difficulties in authorising new treatments could mean essential drugs don't reach families that need them; recognises the need for a simplified approval process for multi-centre trials; acknowledges that hospital trusts should promote research more effectively amongst rare disease patients; calls on the Government to establish a ring-fenced fund for rare disease drugs; further calls on the Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency, the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence and NHS England to speed up access to life-changing drugs after the final stages of clinical trials to ensure there are no major delays in treatments reaching children; and further calls on NHS England to ensure specialist centres are equipped with an appropriate range of health professionals to deliver treatments.

This motion has been signed by a total of 47 MPs.

David Anderson03/09/2013BlaydonLabourProposed
Margaret Ritchie03/09/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Mark Durkan03/09/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Mike Hancock03/09/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Shannon04/09/2013StrangfordDUPSeconded
Alan Meale04/09/2013MansfieldLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery04/09/2013WansbeckLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn04/09/2013Islington NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell04/09/2013Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell04/09/2013Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
William McCrea04/09/2013South AntrimDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins04/09/2013Luton NorthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner05/09/2013BolsoverLabourSigned
George Howarth05/09/2013KnowsleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton05/09/2013GowerLabourSigned
George Galloway05/09/2013Bradford WestRespectSigned
Ian Mearns05/09/2013GatesheadLabourSigned
Andrew Miller06/09/2013Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne09/09/2013Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Mark Williams10/09/2013CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon10/09/2013North TynesideLabourSigned
Anne Begg10/09/2013Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
David Simpson10/09/2013Upper BannDUPSigned
Barry Sheerman10/09/2013HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Tom Clarke10/09/2013Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Annette Brooke11/09/2013Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell11/09/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham11/09/2013WorkingtonLabourSigned
John Leech11/09/2013Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Roy11/09/2013GlenrothesLabourSigned
David Crausby12/09/2013Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John Hemming12/09/2013Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Natascha Engel12/09/2013North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Frank Doran13/09/2013Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham08/10/2013Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Pat Glass08/10/2013North West DurhamLabourSigned
Grahame Morris08/10/2013EasingtonLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland08/10/2013Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper08/10/2013West LancashireLabourSigned
Hywel Williams15/10/2013ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Naomi Long15/10/2013Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Lady Hermon16/10/2013North DownIndependentSigned
Nigel Dodds29/10/2013Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Mike Gapes06/11/2013Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Katy Clark11/11/2013North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly23/01/2014Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
George Mudie05/02/2014Leeds EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.