Parliament Website

Exclusion Of Seafarers - EU Labour Directives

EDM number 860 in 2013-14, proposed by Alan Meale on 09/12/2013.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, EU law and treaties and Shipping.

That this House is aware that discussions are currently taking place at inter-Government level to allow the inclusion of seafarers to be within the scope of EU social directives, thereby ending the unjustifiable and discriminatory treatment of this group of workers; notes that so far there have been three individual Commission consultations on this matter since 2007; believes there is no rationale for sustaining the current exclusion regime and that instead all seafaring employees should as of right be placed on an equal footing with other land-based workers; and calls on the Government to support the extension of the acquis communautaire on labour and social laws so that such people enjoy the same protection as other categories of workers.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

Alan Meale09/12/2013MansfieldLabourProposed
Jim Sheridan09/12/2013Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSeconded
David Crausby09/12/2013Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery09/12/2013WansbeckLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin09/12/2013Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Jimmy Hood09/12/2013Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley09/12/2013Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mark Durkan09/12/2013FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Shannon10/12/2013StrangfordDUPSigned
Dennis Skinner10/12/2013BolsoverLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie10/12/2013South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Elfyn Llwyd10/12/2013Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Glenda Jackson10/12/2013Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham10/12/2013WorkingtonLabourSigned
Martin Caton11/12/2013GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell11/12/2013Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram11/12/2013Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn12/12/2013Islington NorthLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham16/12/2013Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Katy Clark16/12/2013North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Mike Hancock16/12/2013Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams16/12/2013ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Lady Hermon17/12/2013North DownIndependentSigned
Sandra Osborne17/12/2013Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Ian Davidson19/12/2013Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Paul Flynn19/12/2013Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim McGovern06/01/2014Dundee WestLabourSigned
Fiona O'Donnell14/01/2014East LothianLabourSigned
George Galloway05/02/2014Bradford WestRespectSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.