Parliament Website

Decision To Close The Independent Living Fund

EDM number 113 in 2014-15, proposed by Anne Begg on 17/06/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Benefits policy, Local government and Sickness, disability and carers' benefits.

That this House is deeply concerned by the Government's announcement to close by June 2015 the Independent Living Fund (ILF), on which over 18,000 disabled people with high support needs rely to live independently in the community; questions the decision to give local authorities (LAs) responsibility for this funding without ring fencing when LAs have already cut spending by £1.9 billion on adult services through efficiencies and service reduction between 2011 and 2013, and the Department of Health has shown that demand for adult social services has outstripped funding as expenditure fell nine per cent behind demand over the last four years; notes that experts believe financial pressure and loss of experienced ILF staff will mean current recipients will be placed in residential care or left at home without adequate care provision; highlights the inadequate Government equality assessment which, for example, cites the range of Disabled Student Allowances (DSAs) available to ameliorate the impact of withdrawing ILF on students, despite DSAs also being cut and being an incomparable allowance with a different use; therefore considers the numerous and significant cuts to disabled benefits mean a cumulative impact assessment of cuts on disabled people is a prerequisite to any decision about the ILF; is reminded that in 2013 the Court of Appeal found the Government's decision to close the ILF in March 2015 breached equality duties; and urges the Government to respect its obligations under the UN Convention of the Rights of Disabled Persons by maintaining the ILF and reopening applications.

This motion has been signed by a total of 58 MPs.

Anne Begg17/06/2014Aberdeen SouthLabourProposed
Mark Durkan17/06/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Graeme Morrice17/06/2014LivingstonLabourSeconded
Margaret Ritchie17/06/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jim Shannon18/06/2014StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jim Dobbin18/06/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell18/06/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Hywel Williams18/06/2014ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Jim McGovern18/06/2014Dundee WestLabourSigned
Grahame Morris18/06/2014EasingtonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham18/06/2014Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds18/06/2014Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Glenda Jackson19/06/2014Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Martin Caton19/06/2014GowerLabourSigned
Michael Weir19/06/2014AngusScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins19/06/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell19/06/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Mary Glindon19/06/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Ian Lavery19/06/2014WansbeckLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner19/06/2014BolsoverLabourSigned
Joan Walley23/06/2014Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper23/06/2014West LancashireLabourSigned
David Anderson23/06/2014BlaydonLabourSigned
Mike Gapes23/06/2014Ilford SouthLabourSigned
David Crausby23/06/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff23/06/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas24/06/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Elfyn Llwyd24/06/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Frank Field24/06/2014BirkenheadLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy24/06/2014GlenrothesLabourSigned
Paul Blomfield24/06/2014Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne24/06/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
David Heyes25/06/2014Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma25/06/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell25/06/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Lady Hermon25/06/2014North DownIndependentSigned
Tony Cunningham25/06/2014WorkingtonLabourSigned
Jim Dowd25/06/2014Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden30/06/2014Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley30/06/2014Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Katy Clark30/06/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Michael Connarty30/06/2014Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman30/06/2014Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock01/07/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Diane Abbott01/07/2014Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock01/07/2014Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Ian Mearns03/07/2014GatesheadLabourSigned
David Blunkett07/07/2014Sheffield, Brightside and HillsboroughLabourSigned
Shaun Woodward10/07/2014St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
George Mudie15/07/2014Leeds EastLabourSigned
Nick Smith02/09/2014Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Frank Doran05/09/2014Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Sheila Gilmore08/09/2014Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood10/09/2014Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Natascha Engel13/10/2014North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Pat Glass13/10/2014North West DurhamLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn21/10/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
Sarah Champion17/11/2014RotherhamLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.