Parliament Website

Ovarian Cancer

EDM number 130 in 2014-15, proposed by Margaret Ritchie on 18/06/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases and Health services.

That this House recognises that ovarian cancer is a devastating illness that places an enormous emotional and physical strain on those who are diagnosed with it and their families; pays tribute to the carers, clinicians and campaigners who work to combat this disease and to support those who are diagnosed with it; acknowledges that despite progress with cancer research, ovarian cancer remains one of the hardest cancers to diagnose and to treat; notes that a woman diagnosed with ovarian cancer today has only a 46 per cent chance of being alive in five years; expresses concern that this illness remains one of the hardest cancers to diagnose, with 30 per cent of people first diagnosed when it has already reached an extremely advanced stage and for many this is when they arrive at an A&E ward in chronic pain; further expresses encouragement that it is now possible for women, at the point of diagnosis with non-mucinous epithelial ovarian cancer, to have a genetic test for mutations on the BRCA1 and 2 genes which increase the risk of developing ovarian cancer; further notes that such techniques can help identify family members who have a high risk of developing the illness and the successful introduction of BRCA testing by the NHS in Scotland; and calls on the Government to support BRCA testing across the NHS to ensure that fewer families have to live through this tragedy.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Margaret Ritchie18/06/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartyProposed
Michael Connarty18/06/2014Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan18/06/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Mary Glindon19/06/2014North TynesideLabourSeconded
John McDonnell19/06/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Glenda Jackson19/06/2014Hampstead and KilburnLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins19/06/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Weir19/06/2014AngusScottish National PartySigned
Rosie Cooper23/06/2014West LancashireLabourSigned
Nick Harvey23/06/2014North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby23/06/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff23/06/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Chris Ruane24/06/2014Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Hywel Williams24/06/2014ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Elfyn Llwyd24/06/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Martin Caton24/06/2014GowerLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy24/06/2014GlenrothesLabourSigned
David Simpson24/06/2014Upper BannDUPSigned
David Heyes25/06/2014Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma25/06/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Annette Brooke25/06/2014Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell25/06/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Lady Hermon25/06/2014North DownIndependentSigned
Ian Paisley Jnr26/06/2014North AntrimDUPSigned
Gordon Marsden30/06/2014Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
George Howarth30/06/2014KnowsleyLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin30/06/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John Leech30/06/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley30/06/2014Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Paul Flynn01/07/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock01/07/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Naomi Long02/07/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Andrew Rosindell07/07/2014RomfordConservativeSigned
Jim McGovern08/07/2014Dundee WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.