Parliament Website

Day Of The Seafarer 2014

EDM number 160 in 2014-15, proposed by Karl Turner on 23/06/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Employment, Pay, Shipping and Taxation.

That this House recognises 25 June 2014 as Day of the Seafarer; notes the critical economic, social and cultural importance of the UK's 10,840 officers, 8,590 ratings and 1,990 officer cadets working at sea today; expresses dismay at the ongoing decline in the number of registered UK seafarers, with a 30 per cent fall in the number of ratings alone since 2011; further notes that this decline is largely due to the continued exclusion of seafarers from the full protections of the national minimum wage and the Equality Act 2010, which has allowed the undercutting of employment standards in the maritime industry; further notes that this has resulted in pay rates for seafarers in the UK ferry industry as low as £2.35 per hour, whilst ship owners in the Tonnage Tax scheme are benefiting from tax relief currently standing at over £1.5 billion; supports the National Union of Rail, Maritime and Transport Workers' Ship of Shame campaign which highlights this exploitation of seafarers; and calls on the Government to mark Day of the Seafarer by committing to full enforcement of the national minimum wage in the maritime sector and implementation of the recommendation of the Government-commissioned Carter Review which called for the end of differential pay in the shipping industry.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs.

Karl Turner23/06/2014Kingston upon Hull EastLabourProposed
John McDonnell23/06/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Alex Cunningham23/06/2014Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris23/06/2014EasingtonLabourSeconded
Katy Clark23/06/2014North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Ian Davidson23/06/2014Glasgow South WestLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan23/06/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Andrew George23/06/2014St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ritchie23/06/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Peter Bottomley23/06/2014Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Diane Abbott23/06/2014Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Kate Hoey23/06/2014VauxhallLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn23/06/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
Linda Riordan23/06/2014HalifaxLabourSigned
Jim Shannon24/06/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
David Simpson24/06/2014Upper BannDUPSigned
Martin Caton24/06/2014GowerLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins24/06/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Weir24/06/2014AngusScottish National PartySigned
Glenda Jackson24/06/2014Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders25/06/2014TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Graeme Morrice25/06/2014LivingstonLabourSigned
Ian Lavery25/06/2014WansbeckLabourSigned
David Ward25/06/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil25/06/2014Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell25/06/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell25/06/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma25/06/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Lady Hermon25/06/2014North DownIndependentSigned
Mary Glindon26/06/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
George Howarth30/06/2014KnowsleyLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas30/06/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Michael Connarty30/06/2014Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Alan Meale30/06/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin30/06/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John Leech30/06/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn01/07/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock01/07/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Joan Walley01/07/2014Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Naomi Long02/07/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Rosie Cooper03/07/2014West LancashireLabourSigned
David Crausby08/07/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.