Parliament Website

Destruction Of Palestinian Homes In Israel

EDM number 204 in 2014-15, proposed by Grahame Morris on 02/07/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Housing, International politics and government and Middle East.

That this House notes with concern that, despite being a clear and egregious violation of the Fourth Geneva Convention, Israel recently announced that it will return to a policy of demolishing the homes of Palestinians suspected and convicted of involvement in terrorism and other violence; deplores and denounces the decision of the Netanyahu-led government in Israel for resuming this questionable practice which human rights group B'Tselem has stated harms only innocents and not the accused; further notes that in 2005 an Israeli military report concluded that the policy of punitive home demolitions did not act as an effective deterrent against terrorism; affirms Article 53 of the Fourth Geneva Convention that the destruction of private property is permitted only where such destruction is rendered absolutely necessary by military operations; believes that the demolition of homes of innocent family members of people accused of crimes constitutes collective punishment; further believes that Israeli government statements on this matter exposes the absence of the rule of law under Israel's occupation and that revenge, demonisation and absolute disregard for the lives and rights of the Palestinians under its control now defines Israeli activities in the occupied Palestinian Territories; urges the Government to condemn Israel's actions as cruel, inhumane and a degrading punishment; calls for urgent action to be taken to oppose these policies; and further calls on the Government to pressure the State of Israel and ensure accountability for any violations that occur as a result of its renewal of demolitions.

This motion has been signed by a total of 56 MPs.

Grahame Morris02/07/2014EasingtonLabourProposed
John McDonnell02/07/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley02/07/2014Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan02/07/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Ian Mearns03/07/2014GatesheadLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery03/07/2014WansbeckLabourSeconded
Michael Connarty03/07/2014Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Mary Glindon03/07/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn03/07/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
Chris Ruane07/07/2014Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
David Ward07/07/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Meale07/07/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins07/07/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin07/07/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie07/07/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Caroline Lucas07/07/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Linda Riordan08/07/2014HalifaxLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd08/07/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
David Crausby08/07/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Mark Williams08/07/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock08/07/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Sarah Champion08/07/2014RotherhamLabourSigned
Hywel Williams08/07/2014ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Valerie Vaz08/07/2014Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff09/07/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Alan Reid09/07/2014Argyll and ButeLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne Begg09/07/2014Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Andrew George09/07/2014St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma09/07/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Chris Williamson09/07/2014Derby NorthLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan09/07/2014Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Frank Field09/07/2014BirkenheadLabourSigned
Joan Walley09/07/2014Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Roger Williams09/07/2014Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil10/07/2014Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Sandra Osborne10/07/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Bob Ainsworth10/07/2014Coventry North EastLabourSigned
Frank Doran10/07/2014Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
George Galloway10/07/2014Bradford WestRespectSigned
Paul Flynn14/07/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock14/07/2014Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick14/07/2014PrestonLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman15/07/2014Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham15/07/2014Coventry SouthLabourSigned
George Mudie15/07/2014Leeds EastLabourSigned
John Hemming15/07/2014Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Jimmy Hood15/07/2014Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Mike Wood15/07/2014Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Martin Caton16/07/2014GowerLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi16/07/2014Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Tim Farron17/07/2014Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Naomi Long17/07/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Geraint Davies21/07/2014Swansea WestLabourSigned
Khalid Mahmood22/07/2014Birmingham, Perry BarrLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy01/09/2014GlenrothesLabourSigned
Sarah Teather01/09/2014Brent CentralLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.