Parliament Website

Road Safety Week 2014

EDM number 462 in 2014-15, proposed by Mark Durkan on 03/11/2014.
Categorised under the topic of Roads.

That this House notes that five people are killed and 61 seriously injured on UK roads every day; further notes that the only acceptable number of deaths and serious injuries on UK roads is zero; congratulates Brake, the road safety charity together with sponsors RSA and Specsavers, on coordinating Road Safety Week from 17 to 23 November 2014 as a focus of efforts to reduce casualties; further notes that thousands of community groups, schools, emergency services and companies will be holding events as part of that Week to raise awareness about road safety; further notes that the campaign this year calls on all road users to look out for each other, acknowledging that streets are shared spaces that require mutual tolerance and respect, and drivers especially exercising care, consideration and patience to protect those on foot and on bikes; and calls on policymakers to promote this vision and take positive steps to make it a reality by reducing speeds and making roads safer for walking and cycling.

This motion has been signed by a total of 52 MPs.

Mark Durkan03/11/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartyProposed
Margaret Ritchie04/11/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Paul Flynn04/11/2014Newport WestLabourSeconded
William McCrea04/11/2014South AntrimDUPSeconded
Alan Meale04/11/2014MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon04/11/2014StrangfordDUPSeconded
David Simpson04/11/2014Upper BannDUPSigned
Greg Mulholland04/11/2014Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell04/11/2014East LondonderryDUPSigned
Bob Blackman04/11/2014Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Mark Hunter04/11/2014CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson05/11/2014BlaydonLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne05/11/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Linda Riordan05/11/2014HalifaxLabourSigned
John Leech05/11/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams05/11/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton05/11/2014GowerLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds05/11/2014Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Lady Hermon05/11/2014North DownIndependentSigned
Ronnie Campbell05/11/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram05/11/2014Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
David Ward05/11/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock06/11/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon06/11/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Ian Lavery06/11/2014WansbeckLabourSigned
Tim Farron06/11/2014Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke06/11/2014Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Glenda Jackson06/11/2014Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Andrew George06/11/2014St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Beith07/11/2014Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff07/11/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick10/11/2014Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
Mike Gapes10/11/2014Ilford SouthLabourSigned
David Crausby11/11/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Chris Ruane17/11/2014Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
John McDonnell17/11/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Hywel Williams17/11/2014ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Elfyn Llwyd17/11/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Virendra Sharma17/11/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
George Howarth17/11/2014KnowsleyLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz17/11/2014Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas18/11/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson18/11/2014Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Chris Williamson18/11/2014Derby NorthLabourSigned
John Pugh18/11/2014SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell19/11/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Naomi Long19/11/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Charles Kennedy19/11/2014Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Doran21/11/2014Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Bill Esterson25/11/2014Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy25/11/2014GlenrothesLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham02/12/2014Coventry SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.