Parliament Website

Asiya Bibi

EDM number 480 in 2014-15, proposed by Jim Shannon on 05/11/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Administration of justice, Asia and Human rights.

That this House deeply regrets that the death sentence passed on Asiya Bibi four years ago under Pakistan's blasphemy law has not been lifted; notes with concern that hundreds of other victims of these laws, including the Briton Mohammad Asghar, are still languishing in jails under threat of death by fellow prisoners and prison guards; denounces the repeated patterns of deliberate and false accusations of blasphemy by private individuals who then use it as an excuse to broadcast the hate material from the mosques, and attacking whole non-Muslim communities; and calls on the Pakistani government to ensure the safety of their non-Muslim citizens.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Jim Shannon05/11/2014StrangfordDUPProposed
David Simpson05/11/2014Upper BannDUPSeconded
Nigel Dodds05/11/2014Belfast NorthDUPSeconded
Gregory Campbell05/11/2014East LondonderryDUPSeconded
Jeffrey M Donaldson05/11/2014Lagan ValleyDUPSeconded
Mark Durkan05/11/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Adrian Sanders06/11/2014TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon06/11/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Mike Hancock06/11/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Marsden07/11/2014Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie10/11/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Meale10/11/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne11/11/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell11/11/2014Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Blackman11/11/2014Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Paul Flynn11/11/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Keith Vaz17/11/2014Leicester EastLabourSigned
John McDonnell17/11/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Julian Lewis17/11/2014New Forest EastConservativeSigned
John Pugh18/11/2014SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff18/11/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Naomi Long19/11/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Valerie Vaz20/11/2014Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy25/11/2014GlenrothesLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham02/12/2014Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon08/12/2014North DownIndependentSigned
Martin Caton09/12/2014GowerLabourSigned
Andrew Stephenson11/12/2014PendleConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.