Parliament Website

Royal Mail And The Universal Service Obligation

EDM number 627 in 2014-15, proposed by George Howarth on 15/12/2014.
Categorised under the topic of Postal services.

That this House notes with gratitude the work Royal Mail carries out all year round and particularly during the period leading up to Christmas; further notes that Royal Mail's competitors are unregulated and, consequently, free to choose what, when and where to deliver; expresses strong concern that companies such as Whistl, formerly TNT Post, regularly fail to deliver hundreds of items on a daily basis in each constituency because they are cherry picking which addresses they find convenient; further notes that this results in additional costs per item as undelivered items of mail are returned to Royal Mail to deliver; further notes that these practices put additional and unfair pressure on Royal Mail revenues, thereby undermining Royal Mail's ability to provide a six day per week service to every household in the UK, the Universal Service obligation; further expresses concern that Royal Mail's competitors frequently pay staff below the living wage and use disreputable employment practices such as zero hours contracts; and calls on Ofcom urgently to investigate this unacceptable situation and take appropriate action to enable Royal Mail to meet its Universal Service obligation.

This motion has been signed by a total of 51 MPs.

George Howarth15/12/2014KnowsleyLabourProposed
Joe Benton15/12/2014BootleLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock15/12/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan15/12/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley15/12/2014Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
John McDonnell15/12/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Jonathan Edwards16/12/2014Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Hywel Williams16/12/2014ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Michael Weir16/12/2014AngusScottish National PartySigned
Jeremy Corbyn16/12/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale16/12/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley16/12/2014York CentralLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma16/12/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie16/12/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Shannon16/12/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham17/12/2014Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Bob Russell17/12/2014ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/12/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne17/12/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff17/12/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell17/12/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd17/12/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Nigel Dodds17/12/2014Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jim Sheridan17/12/2014Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson17/12/2014Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Martin Caton17/12/2014GowerLabourSigned
David Crausby17/12/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Annette Brooke17/12/2014Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Davidson18/12/2014Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Kate Hoey18/12/2014VauxhallLabourSigned
Ian Lavery18/12/2014WansbeckLabourSigned
Frank Roy18/12/2014Motherwell and WishawLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil18/12/2014Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Steve Rotheram05/01/2015Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Nick Harvey05/01/2015North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Liz McInnes05/01/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Katy Clark05/01/2015North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Andrew George05/01/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell06/01/2015East LondonderryDUPSigned
William McCrea07/01/2015South AntrimDUPSigned
Lady Hermon07/01/2015North DownIndependentSigned
David Simpson07/01/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
John Leech08/01/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon08/01/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Chris Williamson12/01/2015Derby NorthLabourSigned
Louise Ellman14/01/2015Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell15/01/2015Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams22/01/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris Ruane03/02/2015Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Jim McGovern11/02/2015Dundee WestLabourSigned
George Galloway11/02/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.