Parliament Website

Mindfulness In Health

EDM number 631 in 2014-15, proposed by Chris Ruane on 15/12/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Health services and Mental health.

That this House believes that all adults with a history of depression should have access to Mindfulness-Based Cognitive Therapy (MBCT) because it halves risk of depressive relapse and can reduce health care utilisation and it is recommended by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE); notes that despite NICE guidance access to MBCT for depression is very patchy and not available at all in some areas; highlights that prevention of depressive relapse through MBCT is particularly pertinent as up to 15 per cent of the population will experience depression during their lifetime; further notes that the World Health Organisation expects depression to be the second leading cause of disability worldwide by 2020; further notes that at least 50 per cent of people with a history of depression have more than one episode and depression costs the UK economy more than £9 billion a year in lost earnings; recognises that there is strong evidence for the effectiveness of mindfulness-based interventions for other health conditions, in particular for reducing anxiety and depression for people living with cancer and for helping people to cope better with chronic pain; and calls on the Government to support increased availability to MBCT for people living with depression and to ensure further research funding is made available in areas where mindfulness-based interventions are showing promise for other long-term health conditions.

This motion has been signed by a total of 55 MPs.

Chris Ruane15/12/2014Vale of ClwydLabourProposed
Tracey Crouch15/12/2014Chatham and AylesfordConservativeSeconded
Joan Walley15/12/2014Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSeconded
Kevan Jones15/12/2014North DurhamLabourSeconded
Mark Williams15/12/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Wright15/12/2014TelfordLabourSeconded
Sarah Champion15/12/2014RotherhamLabourSigned
Mark Durkan15/12/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John McDonnell15/12/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Hazel Blears15/12/2014Salford and EcclesLabourSigned
Siobhain McDonagh15/12/2014Mitcham and MordenLabourSigned
Tom Harris15/12/2014Glasgow SouthLabourSigned
Chris Evans15/12/2014IslwynLabourSigned
David Lammy15/12/2014TottenhamLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie16/12/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mike Hancock16/12/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn16/12/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale16/12/2014MansfieldLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma16/12/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Jim Shannon16/12/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
Andrew McDonald17/12/2014MiddlesbroughLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland17/12/2014Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell17/12/2014ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon17/12/2014North DownIndependentSigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/12/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne17/12/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff17/12/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Hywel Williams17/12/2014ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Nick Smith17/12/2014Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Ann Coffey17/12/2014StockportLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper17/12/2014West LancashireLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell17/12/2014Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd17/12/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Nigel Dodds17/12/2014Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Martin Caton17/12/2014GowerLabourSigned
David Crausby17/12/2014Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner17/12/2014BolsoverLabourSigned
Diane Abbott17/12/2014Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Jessica Morden17/12/2014Newport EastLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham18/12/2014Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Ian Lavery18/12/2014WansbeckLabourSigned
Mary Glindon18/12/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi05/01/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Nick Harvey05/01/2015North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Steve Rotheram05/01/2015Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Andrew George05/01/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Teresa Pearce06/01/2015Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
William McCrea06/01/2015South AntrimDUPSigned
Gregory Campbell06/01/2015East LondonderryDUPSigned
David Simpson07/01/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham07/01/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
John Leech08/01/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris Williamson12/01/2015Derby NorthLabourSigned
George Galloway11/02/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned
Gerald Kaufman12/03/2015Manchester, GortonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.