Parliament Website

Racehorse Whipping

EDM number 713 in 2014-15, proposed by Adrian Sanders on 20/01/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Animal welfare and Sports.

That this House notes that racehorses are routinely beaten with a whip under rules set by the industry's regulatory body, the British Horseracing Authority (BHA); further notes that these rules explicitly sanction this violent treatment in order that jockeys may encourage racehorses to improve their chances of winning, even though evidence indicates that whipping for this purpose is counter-productive; further notes that no other animal can be legally beaten in such circumstances and that a 2014 YouGov poll found that 70 per cent of all respondents oppose racehorses being whipped; recognises that, for genuine purposes of safety where other methods have failed to bring a horse under control, a whip can be legitimately employed, as is the case in Norway; and calls on the Department for Culture, Media and Sport and the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs to ensure that the BHA's rules are amended to forbid use of the whip for encouragement or for equivalent reasons.

This motion has been signed by a total of 66 MPs.

Adrian Sanders20/01/2015TorbayLiberal DemocratProposed
Mark Hunter20/01/2015CheadleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mike Hancock20/01/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley20/01/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Martin Caton21/01/2015GowerLabourSeconded
John Leech22/01/2015Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
John McDonnell22/01/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn23/01/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon28/01/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Caroline Lucas28/01/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Hywel Williams29/01/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Gerald Kaufman02/02/2015Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
William McCrea03/02/2015South AntrimDUPSigned
Iain McKenzie03/02/2015InverclydeLabourSigned
Gordon Birtwistle03/02/2015BurnleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Clwyd03/02/2015Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
George Howarth03/02/2015KnowsleyLabourSigned
Chris Williamson04/02/2015Derby NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson04/02/2015Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
John Pugh05/02/2015SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Anne Begg05/02/2015Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds05/02/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Tom Clarke09/02/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Joan Walley09/02/2015Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Frank Field09/02/2015BirkenheadLabourSigned
Dave Watts09/02/2015St Helens NorthLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock10/02/2015Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Natascha Engel10/02/2015North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
David Crausby10/02/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Julian Huppert11/02/2015CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
George Galloway11/02/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned
Rosie Cooper11/02/2015West LancashireLabourSigned
Frank Doran12/02/2015Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Naomi Long23/02/2015Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Jim Dowd23/02/2015Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson23/02/2015Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Fabian Hamilton23/02/2015Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Jim McGovern23/02/2015Dundee WestLabourSigned
Jimmy Hood23/02/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Emily Thornberry23/02/2015Islington South and FinsburyLabourSigned
Mike Wood23/02/2015Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Andrew George23/02/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
David Wright24/02/2015TelfordLabourSigned
Teresa Pearce26/02/2015Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd27/02/2015EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark02/03/2015North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Alan Reid05/03/2015Argyll and ButeLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Lazarowicz06/03/2015Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Martin Horwood10/03/2015CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Graham Stringer11/03/2015Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Jennifer Willott11/03/2015Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cunningham17/03/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn17/03/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Clive Betts17/03/2015Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Diane Abbott17/03/2015Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
George Mudie18/03/2015Leeds EastLabourSigned
John Hemming18/03/2015Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams19/03/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Geraint Davies23/03/2015Swansea WestLabourSigned
Ian Davidson23/03/2015Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Tom Watson23/03/2015West Bromwich EastLabourSigned
John Thurso23/03/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff23/03/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Stephen Gilbert24/03/2015St Austell and NewquayLiberal DemocratSigned
David Ward25/03/2015Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Connarty25/03/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.