Parliament Website

Natural Resources Of Palestine

EDM number 838 in 2014-15, proposed by Jeremy Corbyn on 04/03/2015.
Categorised under the topics of International politics and government, Middle East and Oil, petrol and natural gas.

That this House acknowledges the view of the World Bank that Israel's occupation is preventing Palestine from accessing its natural resources, including not only oil and gas but also agricultural land and water acquifers; notes the natural gas reserves of Gaza Marine One and Noa South of Gaza Marine Two are in Gaza's territorial waters and contain at least $5 billion of gas; further notes that BG Group has held a licence since 1999 but Israel's intransigence has prevented it from commencing exploration; further notes the already operational Meged oil field in Israel is believed to contain reserves of at least 3.5 million barrels and to extend into the Occupied West Bank; further notes that Israel has also issued licences for oil exploration in the occupied Golan Heights in violation of international law; recalls that the Oslo Accords oblige Israel to co-ordinate exploration for natural resources in shared territory with the Palestine Authority and share its benefits; and therefore calls on the Government, together with its European partners, to press Israel to abide by its obligations and cease obstructing legitimate Palestinian endeavours aimed at accessing its natural resources.

This motion has been signed by a total of 39 MPs.

Jeremy Corbyn04/03/2015Islington NorthLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley04/03/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan04/03/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Michael Connarty04/03/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins05/03/2015Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Elfyn Llwyd05/03/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
George Galloway06/03/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned
David Winnick09/03/2015Walsall NorthLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie09/03/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Glenda Jackson09/03/2015Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Grahame Morris09/03/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/03/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George09/03/2015St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Liz McInnes10/03/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
David Anderson10/03/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff10/03/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Annette Brooke11/03/2015Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell11/03/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Ward11/03/2015Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Doran12/03/2015Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell12/03/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Mary Glindon12/03/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Martin Caton12/03/2015GowerLabourSigned
Ian Mearns12/03/2015GatesheadLabourSigned
Ian Lavery12/03/2015WansbeckLabourSigned
Diane Abbott12/03/2015Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham12/03/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Alan Reid16/03/2015Argyll and ButeLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Blomfield16/03/2015Sheffield CentralLabourSigned
Hywel Williams17/03/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Dowd17/03/2015Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
George Mudie18/03/2015Leeds EastLabourSigned
John Hemming18/03/2015Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams19/03/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark23/03/2015North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Michael Crockart24/03/2015Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Williams24/03/2015Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby24/03/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland25/03/2015Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.