Parliament Website

Death Of Avijit Roy

EDM number 846 in 2014-15, proposed by Jim Fitzpatrick on 06/03/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Asia and Crimes of violence.

That this House condemns the murder of Bengali US citizen, freethinker, writer and blogger Avijit Roy in Dhaka on 26 February 2015, believed to be carried out by an Islamist group which has claimed responsibility; notes that the recent blockade and general strikes by BNP/Jamaat-e-Islami has led to several deaths from arson attacks and violence which is putting a Muslim-majority secular democratic country in grave danger; calls on the Government to assist Bangladesh in any way possible to help with the crime investigation and curtailing the rise of Islamism; further calls on the Bangladeshi government to show restraint in dealing with genuine peaceful demonstrations and protests; and expects the Awami League and the Bangladesh Nationalist Party to demonstrate support for the Bangladesh secular and democratic constitution by engaging in urgent talks to restore order, especially among their supporters, and to appeal for calm in the difficult weeks ahead.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Jim Fitzpatrick06/03/2015Poplar and LimehouseLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley06/03/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon09/03/2015StrangfordDUPSeconded
Mark Durkan09/03/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jeremy Corbyn09/03/2015Islington NorthLabourSeconded
William McCrea10/03/2015South AntrimDUPSeconded
David Simpson10/03/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie10/03/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Liz McInnes10/03/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock10/03/2015Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff10/03/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Alan Meale11/03/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds11/03/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Virendra Sharma11/03/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham12/03/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon12/03/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Mary Glindon12/03/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
John McDonnell12/03/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins16/03/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Bob Blackman16/03/2015Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Keith Vaz16/03/2015Leicester EastLabourSigned
Andrew Love17/03/2015EdmontonLabourSigned
Jim McGovern17/03/2015Dundee WestLabourSigned
Mike Gapes17/03/2015Ilford SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.