Parliament Website

Minimum Energy Efficiency Standards For Private Rented Homes

EDM number 95 in 2014-15, proposed by John Leech on 12/06/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Energy, Housing and Private rented housing.

That this House notes that the private rented sector (PRS) is a rapidly growing part of the housing market, accounting for 17.5 per cent of English households; that the PRS has over five times more homes in EPC Bands F and G than the social housing sector and that nearly half the PRS households living in Band F and G properties are in fuel poverty, costing the NHS £145 million annually and that those households are home to 191,000 children, 62 per cent of whom are in fuel poverty; further notes that the Energy Act 2011 placed a duty on the Government to introduce a minimum energy efficiency standard for the PRS by April 2018, and that Ministers repeatedly indicated that they expected the standard to be EPC Band E; further notes that new research for WWF-UK and the UK Green Building Council shows that the average cost of bringing a property up to Band E is £1,421 and that 72 per cent of properties can reach this standard for less than £1,000; regrets that the regulations have been significantly delayed; therefore calls on the Government to consult on and lay the regulations without further delay, in order to give landlords adequate time to comply; and further calls on the Government to ensure that the regulations are made clear and enforceable by specifying Band E as the minimum standard in all cases, and by keeping exemptions to an absolute minimum.

This motion has been signed by a total of 67 MPs.

John Leech12/06/2014Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Alan Whitehead12/06/2014Southampton, TestLabourSeconded
Martin Horwood12/06/2014CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alex Cunningham12/06/2014Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Andrew George12/06/2014St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley12/06/2014Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Rosie Cooper16/06/2014West LancashireLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson16/06/2014Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin16/06/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards16/06/2014Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
John McDonnell16/06/2014Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Linda Riordan16/06/2014HalifaxLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd17/06/2014Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Shannon17/06/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
Graham Stringer17/06/2014Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas17/06/2014Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Jeremy Corbyn18/06/2014Islington NorthLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne18/06/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/06/2014Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon19/06/2014North TynesideLabourSigned
Michael Crockart19/06/2014Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell19/06/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Bob Russell19/06/2014ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Joan Walley23/06/2014Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
John Robertson25/06/2014Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Martin Caton30/06/2014GowerLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders01/07/2014TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
David Ward01/07/2014Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Love01/07/2014EdmontonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock01/07/2014Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Clive Betts02/07/2014Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
Hugh Bayley02/07/2014York CentralLabourSigned
Naomi Long02/07/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Paul Flynn03/07/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly03/07/2014Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Peter Aldous03/07/2014WaveneyConservativeSigned
Frank Doran03/07/2014Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Frank Field03/07/2014BirkenheadLabourSigned
Michael Connarty03/07/2014Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Tim Farron03/07/2014Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Gilbert03/07/2014St Austell and NewquayLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson07/07/2014BlaydonLabourSigned
Ian Paisley Jnr07/07/2014North AntrimDUPSigned
Gordon Henderson07/07/2014Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Nick Harvey07/07/2014North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Cunningham07/07/2014WorkingtonLabourSigned
Ian Swales07/07/2014RedcarLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Thornton07/07/2014EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke07/07/2014Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams07/07/2014CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Graham Stuart08/07/2014Beverley and HoldernessConservativeSigned
Steve Rotheram08/07/2014Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland09/07/2014Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff09/07/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Roger Williams09/07/2014Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris Williamson09/07/2014Derby NorthLabourSigned
Michael Meacher10/07/2014Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell10/07/2014Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Joan Ruddock14/07/2014Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham14/07/2014Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Mike Wood15/07/2014Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Robert Flello16/07/2014Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
John Mann16/07/2014BassetlawLabourSigned
Julian Huppert21/07/2014CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Graeme Morrice04/09/2014LivingstonLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz11/09/2014Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Joe Benton15/10/2014BootleLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.