Parliament Website

Cervical Screening Awareness Week

EDM number 108 in 2015-16, proposed by Nicholas Brown on 10/06/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Charities, Diseases and Health education and preventive medicine.

That this House welcomes Cervical Screening Awareness Week 2015, which runs from 15 to 21 June 2015 and is led by Jo's Cervical Cancer Trust; notes that the week aims to highlight the importance of cervical screening and how attending a screening appointment can help to prevent cervical cancer; further notes that the UK has a cervical screening programme that saves 5,000 lives a year, however nearly three women still die from cervical cancer every day; understands that over 22 per cent of women still do not attend their cervical screening; believes that, with eight women diagnosed with cervical cancer every day, raising public awareness of cervical screening is a priority; further understands that almost two-thirds of women aged 50 to 64 do not know that HPV causes cervical cancer and that women in this cervical screening age group are more likely to be diagnosed with advanced stage cervical cancer than other eligible age groups; recognises the excellent work of Jo's Cervical Cancer Trust in supporting women and their families; and asks hon. Members, clinicians and policymakers to join the fight to eradicate cervical cancer.

This motion has been signed by a total of 61 MPs.

Nick Brown10/06/2015Newcastle upon Tyne EastLabourProposed
Mark Durkan10/06/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Keith Vaz10/06/2015Leicester EastLabourSeconded
Khalid Mahmood10/06/2015Birmingham, Perry BarrLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley10/06/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Virendra Sharma10/06/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon11/06/2015StrangfordDUPSigned
Ian Lavery11/06/2015WansbeckLabourSigned
Michael Weir11/06/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day11/06/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Diane Abbott11/06/2015Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas11/06/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
John McNally15/06/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alex Cunningham15/06/2015Stockton NorthLabourSigned
David Anderson15/06/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Neil Gray15/06/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman15/06/2015Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Liz McInnes15/06/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Vicky Foxcroft15/06/2015Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham15/06/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie15/06/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Meale15/06/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Owen Thompson15/06/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Grahame Morris15/06/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Margaret Ferrier15/06/2015Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Paula Sherriff16/06/2015DewsburyLabourSigned
Pat Glass16/06/2015North West DurhamLabourSigned
Rachael Maskell16/06/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Liz Saville Roberts16/06/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Corri Wilson16/06/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Nigel Dodds16/06/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jeremy Corbyn16/06/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell16/06/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Martin Docherty16/06/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson16/06/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Nick Thomas-Symonds16/06/2015TorfaenLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell17/06/2015East LondonderryDUPSigned
Bob Blackman17/06/2015Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Chris Stephens17/06/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon17/06/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Teresa Pearce17/06/2015Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Mark Williams18/06/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon18/06/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Kate Osamor18/06/2015EdmontonLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Gavin Robinson18/06/2015Belfast EastDUPSigned
Fiona Mactaggart18/06/2015SloughLabourSigned
Tasmina Sheikh22/06/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan22/06/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Clive Lewis22/06/2015Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Philippa Whitford22/06/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford22/06/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Kinnock23/06/2015AberavonLabourSigned
Gavin Newlands23/06/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff24/06/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil02/07/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi02/07/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Lisa Cameron06/07/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown21/07/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby21/07/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Thangam Debbonaire07/09/2015Bristol WestLabourSigned
Angela Crawley11/05/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.