Parliament Website

VAT Reduction For The Hospitality Industry

EDM number 124 in 2015-16, proposed by Andrew Bridgen on 15/06/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Industry, Leisure and Taxation.

That this House recognises that local restaurants and public houses are facing very challenging conditions in the current economy and are being put under further pressure by the rise of large supermarkets that enjoy preferential value added tax (VAT) treatment; notes that these businesses lie at the heart of their local communities, economically and socially; further notes that 13 EU member states, including the Republic of Ireland, have introduced a reduced rate of VAT within their tourism and hospitality sectors for restaurants and public houses, and 22 have done so for hotel accommodation, and that such measures have had a positive impact; calls on the Chancellor of the Exchequer to undertake a review of similar sector-specific VAT reduction measures to help businesses in the UK; and further recognises that such a move would encourage growth in the wider economy, support job creation and generate investment in local businesses.

This motion has been signed by a total of 57 MPs.

Andrew Bridgen15/06/2015North West LeicestershireConservativeProposed
Peter Bottomley15/06/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan15/06/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Alan Meale16/06/2015MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon16/06/2015StrangfordDUPSeconded
Nigel Dodds16/06/2015Belfast NorthDUPSeconded
Martyn Day16/06/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir16/06/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie16/06/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts16/06/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Angus MacNeil17/06/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Gregory Campbell17/06/2015East LondonderryDUPSigned
Peter Aldous17/06/2015WaveneyConservativeSigned
Danny Kinahan17/06/2015South AntrimUUPSigned
Lady Hermon17/06/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Drew Hendry17/06/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams18/06/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ferrier18/06/2015Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray18/06/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
John McNally18/06/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Callum McCaig18/06/2015Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon18/06/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson18/06/2015Belfast EastDUPSigned
Greg Knight22/06/2015East YorkshireConservativeSigned
Ian Blackford22/06/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford22/06/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
George Howarth23/06/2015KnowsleyLabourSigned
Frank Field23/06/2015BirkenheadLabourSigned
Marion Fellows23/06/2015Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond23/06/2015Signed
Paul Monaghan24/06/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Sammy Wilson24/06/2015East AntrimDUPSigned
Stephen Hepburn24/06/2015JarrowLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell24/06/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Roger Godsiff24/06/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Michelle Thomson25/06/2015Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law29/06/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Williams29/06/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Gordon Henderson29/06/2015Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Stuart Donaldson30/06/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell30/06/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan01/07/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Richard Arkless01/07/2015Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan01/07/2015East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Calum Kerr01/07/2015Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss01/07/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin01/07/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
David Davies01/07/2015MonmouthConservativeSigned
Greg Mulholland07/07/2015Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson07/07/2015Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
David Simpson07/07/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
John Pugh13/07/2015SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dowd20/07/2015Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Alan Brown21/07/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Ian Paisley Jnr21/07/2015North AntrimDUPSigned
David Crausby21/07/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Stuart McDonald07/09/2015Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.