Parliament Website

Global TB

EDM number 128 in 2015-16, proposed by Virendra Kumar Sharma on 15/06/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases and Research and innovation.

That this House recognises the enormous human and economic cost of the global tuberculosis (TB) epidemic which claims 1.5 million lives a year and severely damages the health and wellbeing of nine million people every year; highlights the particular threat posed by Multi-Drug Resistant TB, which is the only major, airborne, drug-resistant infection; acknowledges the estimates by the independent Review of Anti-Microbial Resistance that MDR-TB could claim an additional 75 million lives worldwide by 2050 at a cost of $16.7 trillion; is concerned by high rates of TB in the UK, particularly in major urban centres; and calls for greater resources to be invested in tackling the disease abroad, in the UK, and in research and development of new treatments, diagnostics and vaccines.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs.

Virendra Sharma15/06/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourProposed
Kate Osamor15/06/2015EdmontonLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
David Simpson16/06/2015Upper BannDUPSeconded
Alan Meale16/06/2015MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon16/06/2015StrangfordDUPSeconded
Mark Durkan16/06/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Nigel Dodds16/06/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Peter Bottomley16/06/2015Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Michael Weir16/06/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day16/06/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Keith Vaz16/06/2015Leicester EastLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn16/06/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell17/06/2015East LondonderryDUPSigned
Martin Docherty17/06/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
David Anderson17/06/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/06/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell17/06/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Lady Hermon17/06/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Grahame Morris17/06/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie17/06/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts17/06/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Stephens17/06/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams18/06/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Graham Stringer18/06/2015Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
John McNally18/06/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon18/06/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Liz McInnes18/06/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Fiona Mactaggart18/06/2015SloughLabourSigned
Philippa Whitford22/06/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows23/06/2015Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
John McDonnell23/06/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ruth Cadbury23/06/2015Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
George Howarth23/06/2015KnowsleyLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn24/06/2015JarrowLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell24/06/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Roger Godsiff24/06/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Rachael Maskell29/06/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Carol Monaghan01/07/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi02/07/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Harry Harpham06/07/2015Sheffield, Brightside and HillsboroughLabourSigned
David Crausby21/07/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.