Parliament Website

Volunteer Vocational Co-Workers At Botton Village Community For Adults With Special Needs

EDM number 249 in 2015-16, proposed by Catherine West on 06/07/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Community care, Special educational needs and Voluntary organisations.

That this House notes that, until recently, Botton Village, a Camphill Community of 60 years' standing, offered a shared way of life for learning-disabled adults alongside volunteer co-workers, living as equals, sharing home, work, culture and recreation; further notes that Camphill Village Trust (CVT) is now insisting that co-workers become employees, with living quarters segregated from residents, or face eviction; further notes that in 2012, concerns were raised, including on safeguarding, about how the volunteer co-worker model at Botton Village was being run, and in February 2014 the Charity Commission published an operational compliance report that stated that key trustees shared its concerns and were committed to addressing them urgently; further notes that the Commission's report does not state that the existing co-worker model was intrinsically problematic; also notes that the HM Revenue and Customs technical document BIM22040 sets out how to operate a volunteer co-working model; further notes that this model continues to operate at other Camphill communities in the UK; is concerned about reports from families of residents at Botton Village that the loss of the residents' chosen lifestyle, of their home and family life as they know it, and the removal of very dear friends, is causing distress to learning-disabled residents; therefore urges CVT to work with the authorities to revert to a volunteer co-worker model at Botton Village; and calls on the Department of Health to work with the Care Quality Commission, HM Revenue and Customs and the Charity Commission to support those running intentional communities to ensure that the unique and successful volunteer co-worker model can continue.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs.

Catherine West06/07/2015Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley06/07/2015Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Thangam Debbonaire07/07/2015Bristol WestLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins07/07/2015Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Martin Docherty07/07/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Michael Weir07/07/2015AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Virendra Sharma07/07/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas09/07/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Roberta Blackman-Woods13/07/2015City of DurhamLabourSigned
David Anderson14/07/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Alex Salmond14/07/2015Signed
Tim Farron15/07/2015Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn15/07/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Julian Sturdy16/07/2015York OuterConservativeSigned
Gavin Newlands20/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady20/07/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford20/07/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray21/07/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Richard Arkless07/09/2015Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySigned
Andrew Murrison07/09/2015South West WiltshireConservativeSigned
Gary Streeter07/09/2015South West DevonConservativeSigned
Drew Hendry07/09/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry07/09/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Norman Lamb14/10/2015North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan27/10/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gavin Robinson05/11/2015Belfast EastDUPSigned
Ian Paisley Jnr05/11/2015North AntrimDUPSigned
Nigel Dodds05/11/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jonathan Edwards16/11/2015Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Liz Saville Roberts16/11/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Tom Elliott16/11/2015Fermanagh and South TyroneUUPSigned
Douglas Carswell19/11/2015ClactonConservativeSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson19/11/2015Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Danny Kinahan23/11/2015South AntrimUUPSigned
Lady Hermon24/11/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Martyn Day26/11/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier26/11/2015Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown30/11/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
David Simpson30/11/2015Upper BannDUPSigned
Tom Brake30/11/2015Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Marie Rimmer30/11/2015St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell02/12/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Sammy Wilson03/12/2015East AntrimDUPSigned
Frank Field14/12/2015BirkenheadLabourSigned
Callum McCaig05/01/2016Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySigned
Ann Clwyd11/01/2016Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Kevin Hollinrake12/01/2016Thirsk and MaltonConservativeSigned
Carol Monaghan02/02/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Henry Bellingham04/05/2016North West NorfolkConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.