Parliament Website

Israeli Military Treatment Of Palestinian Children

EDM number 287 in 2015-16, proposed by Philippa Whitford on 13/07/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Administration of justice, Children and families, Human rights, International law, International politics and government and Middle East.

That this House condemns the charging of Palestinian children with offences under Israeli military law and their trial in military courts since the occupation of Palestinian territory in 1967; further condemns the arrests, detention and prosecution of around 700 Palestinian children in the Israeli military court system each year; acknowledges the work that Defence for Children International - Palestine do in increasing awareness and providing legal assistance for Palestinian children; condemns the physical violence that more than three-quarters of Palestinian child detainees in 2014 endured in some form between the period of their arrest and interrogation with half of those also strip-searched; notes that during arrest and interrogation, 93 per cent of children were denied access to legal counsel and rarely informed of their rights, particularly their right against self-incrimination; further notes that last year almost all children confessed regardless of guilt to stop further abuse; notes that in 2014 more than 25 per cent of children signed statements in Hebrew despite not understanding the language; notes that between 2012 and 2014 Israeli military, police and security agents held 54 Palestinian children in solitary confinement for interrogation purposes, prior to charging them with any offence, and that in 2014 the average time that an individual child spent in solitary confinement for interrogation purposes was 15 days; and calls on the Government to demand immediate action from the Israeli government to behave in line with international law.

This motion has been signed by a total of 72 MPs.

Philippa Whitford13/07/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartyProposed
Tommy Sheppard13/07/2015Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySeconded
Brendan O'Hara13/07/2015Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law13/07/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald13/07/2015Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Patrick Grady13/07/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Mark Durkan13/07/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Meale13/07/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn13/07/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Phil Boswell13/07/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant13/07/2015GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond14/07/2015Signed
Drew Hendry14/07/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands14/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
David Anderson14/07/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Andrew McDonald14/07/2015MiddlesbroughLabourSigned
Ian Mearns14/07/2015GatesheadLabourSigned
Paul Monaghan14/07/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
John McDonnell14/07/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie14/07/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Stephens14/07/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day14/07/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson15/07/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/07/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Richard Burgon15/07/2015Leeds EastLabourSigned
Paul Flynn15/07/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Lisa Cameron15/07/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell15/07/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Corri Wilson15/07/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson16/07/2015Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan16/07/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Matheson16/07/2015City of ChesterLabourSigned
Liz McInnes16/07/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Robert Flello16/07/2015Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham16/07/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Neil Gray16/07/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts16/07/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Calum Kerr16/07/2015Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff20/07/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Natalie McGarry20/07/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Hywel Williams20/07/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Brown20/07/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
John McNally20/07/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Paula Sherriff20/07/2015DewsburyLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas20/07/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Imran Hussain20/07/2015Bradford EastLabourSigned
Vicky Foxcroft20/07/2015Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Tasmina Sheikh20/07/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows21/07/2015Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell21/07/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mhairi Black21/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson21/07/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin07/09/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry07/09/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Ruth Cadbury07/09/2015Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Rachael Maskell07/09/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Alex Cunningham07/09/2015Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Pete Wishart07/09/2015Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams07/09/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Angela Crawley08/09/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin17/09/2015Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil20/10/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford05/01/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss06/01/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson06/01/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Thangam Debbonaire06/01/2016Bristol WestLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins06/01/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
David Hanson11/01/2016DelynLabourSigned
Tom Brake12/01/2016Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Patricia Gibson18/01/2016North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Anne Main18/01/2016St AlbansConservativeSigned
Yasmin Qureshi22/02/2016Bolton South EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.