Parliament Website

Restrictions On Journalists In Burma

EDM number 57 in 2015-16, proposed by Valerie Vaz on 01/06/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Asia, Human rights, International politics and government, Parliament and Press.

That this House deplores the restrictions recently imposed on journalists in reporting proceedings in the Burmese parliament, the Assembly of the Union; notes that the restrictions have now been lifted; believes that the reporting of parliamentary proceedings is vital for public information and to hold Members accountable; further notes the importance of the fight by John Wilkes to secure reporting of Parliament in the development of the UK's own democracy; further notes the latest report on Burma in 2015 by Human Rights Watch that highlights increasing intimidation of the media over the past year, including new restrictions on both foreign and domestic journalists; further notes the current imprisonment of 13 journalists and the shooting in October 2014 of the freelance reporter, Ko Par Gyi, by the army whilst held in custody; and calls on the Government to raise concerns about the restrictions on parliamentary reporting in Burma and to express its determination to monitor developments in media freedom in Burma in the future.

This motion has been signed by a total of 51 MPs.

Valerie Vaz01/06/2015Walsall SouthLabourProposed
Margaret Ritchie01/06/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Mark Durkan01/06/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jim Shannon02/06/2015StrangfordDUPSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins02/06/2015Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Michael Weir02/06/2015AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day02/06/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon03/06/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Greg Mulholland03/06/2015Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/06/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Peter Bottomley03/06/2015Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Tasmina Sheikh03/06/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil03/06/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens03/06/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law03/06/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts03/06/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Hywel Williams03/06/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Roger Godsiff04/06/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
John McDonnell04/06/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
David Anderson04/06/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Liz McInnes04/06/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John Pugh04/06/2015SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cunningham04/06/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Keith Vaz04/06/2015Leicester EastLabourSigned
Paul Flynn04/06/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Mary Glindon04/06/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn08/06/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Alex Salmond08/06/2015Signed
Kirsten Oswald09/06/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray09/06/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Alistair Carmichael09/06/2015Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Brown09/06/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Imran Hussain09/06/2015Bradford EastLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins09/06/2015North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady09/06/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Mark Williams10/06/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Stuart Donaldson10/06/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
David Crausby10/06/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Diane Abbott11/06/2015Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Andrew McDonald15/06/2015MiddlesbroughLabourSigned
Richard Burgon15/06/2015Leeds EastLabourSigned
Alan Meale15/06/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Roger Mullin15/06/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma15/06/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds16/06/2015Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Rachael Maskell16/06/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Stephen Kinnock23/06/2015AberavonLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan01/07/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Norman Lamb02/07/2015North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Yasmin Qureshi02/07/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Robert Flello16/07/2015Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.