Parliament Website

Death Sentence On Former President Morsi

EDM number 59 in 2015-16, proposed by Grahame Morris on 01/06/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Administration of justice, International politics and government and Middle East.

That this House condemns the unjust death sentence handed down to Former President of the Republic of Egypt, Mr Mohammad Morsi and to a number of his party members by an Egyptian court on 15 May 2015; believes this judgement is cruel and falls short of the principles of justice; further notes the death sentence pronounced on a President popularly elected in 2012 after successful agitations against the despotic and corrupt government of Hosni Mubarak will not help the current government and reinforces the traditional approach adopted in Egypt to silence political dissent and malign pluralism; affirms the view that political leaders should not be purged for their views even if those views are contrary to the current government; further believes the judgement shows a move to seek revenge, not justice and that the application of the death sentence will be considered as a judicial murder, a continued stain on the reputation of the present leadership of the country; expresses concern that the application of the death sentence is likely to unleash an unprecedented wave of violence and insecurity in Egypt and the wider Middle East; urges the Egyptian government to recognise that the judgement is cruel and falls short of the principles of justice; and calls on the government of Egypt to revoke the death sentence and order a fair retrial.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs.

Grahame Morris01/06/2015EasingtonLabourProposed
Ian Mearns01/06/2015GatesheadLabourSeconded
Margaret Ritchie01/06/2015South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Richard Burgon01/06/2015Leeds EastLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn01/06/2015Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins01/06/2015Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan01/06/2015FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gavin Robinson02/06/2015Belfast EastDUPSigned
Dennis Skinner02/06/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
Martyn Day02/06/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley03/06/2015Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Greg Mulholland03/06/2015Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Sammy Wilson03/06/2015East AntrimDUPSigned
Ian Lavery03/06/2015WansbeckLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/06/2015Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Chris Stephens03/06/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell03/06/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff04/06/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
John McDonnell04/06/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
David Anderson04/06/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Liz McInnes04/06/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham04/06/2015Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn04/06/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Mary Glindon04/06/2015North TynesideLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil08/06/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Gordon Marsden08/06/2015Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael09/06/2015Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Philippa Whitford09/06/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty10/06/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon10/06/2015North DownIndependentSigned
Mark Williams10/06/2015CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby10/06/2015Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Chris Matheson11/06/2015City of ChesterLabourSigned
Diane Abbott11/06/2015Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas11/06/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Alan Meale15/06/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Robert Flello15/06/2015Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
Rachael Maskell16/06/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Norman Lamb02/07/2015North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Yasmin Qureshi02/07/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Alan Brown21/07/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.