Parliament Website

National Minimum Wage: Naming And Shaming Of Non-Compliant Employers

EDM number 1089 in 2017-19, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 19/03/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Companies and Pay.

That this House welcomes the Government's commitment to come down hard on businesses that breach the National Minimum Wage; notes that a key plank of the Government's efforts to both raise awareness and discourage such breaches is the naming and shaming of non-compliant businesses by the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy; believes that any such naming scheme needs to be both fair and fully transparent; further notes that of the 1,049 businesses named in the August 2016, February 2017, August 2017 and December 2017 naming rounds for collectively owing £5.2 million to 47,336 workers, 169 were instructed by HM Revenue and Customs to self-correct additional arrears, for which they were not named, totalling £4.1 million and owed to 71,766 workers; notes that 17 of those 169 businesses owed total arrears to more than 250 workers, that 12 owed total arrears to more than 500 workers, that 10 owed total arrears of more than £100,000, that five owed total arrears of more than £250,000, and that 96 were instructed to self­ correct a sum of arrears greater than that for which they were named and shamed; is concerned that current policy on the self-correction of arrears allows the worst offenders to avoid being named for the full sum of arrears owed to their workers, thereby undermining the credibility of the naming scheme; and calls on the Government to conduct a consultative review of policy on both the naming and shaming of businesses and the self-correction of arrears.

This motion has been signed by a total of 80 MPs.

Caroline Lucas19/03/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Jo Swinson19/03/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSeconded
Robert Halfon19/03/2018HarlowConservativeSeconded
Chuka Umunna19/03/2018StreathamLabourSeconded
Ian Blackford19/03/2018Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySeconded
Liz Saville Roberts19/03/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Lloyd Russell-Moyle19/03/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Neil Gray19/03/2018Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens19/03/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Kinnock19/03/2018AberavonLabourSigned
David Linden19/03/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Alistair Carmichael19/03/2018Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn19/03/2018Newport WestLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd19/03/2018EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Karen Buck19/03/2018Westminster NorthLabourSigned
Hywel Williams19/03/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Jo Stevens19/03/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Christine Jardine19/03/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Martyn Day19/03/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford19/03/2018Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Jon Cruddas19/03/2018Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Mike Amesbury19/03/2018Weaver ValeLabourSigned
Neil Coyle19/03/2018Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLabourSigned
Mike Gapes19/03/2018Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Wera Hobhouse19/03/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Cunningham19/03/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Layla Moran19/03/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Patrick Grady19/03/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Norman Lamb19/03/2018North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Andy Slaughter19/03/2018HammersmithLabourSigned
Tulip Siddiq19/03/2018Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Tim Farron19/03/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Stuart McDonald19/03/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Ben Lake19/03/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Daniel Zeichner19/03/2018CambridgeLabourSigned
Alex Sobel19/03/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Deidre Brock19/03/2018Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards19/03/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Kate Green19/03/2018Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Ellie Reeves19/03/2018Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
David Lammy19/03/2018TottenhamLabourSigned
Ian Murray19/03/2018Edinburgh SouthLabourSigned
Martin Docherty19/03/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan19/03/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard19/03/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
John McNally19/03/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald20/03/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon20/03/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Matt Western20/03/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Mike Hill20/03/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Ruth Cadbury20/03/2018Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Tom Brake20/03/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Marie Rimmer21/03/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Gavin Robinson22/03/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Mary Glindon22/03/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Hilary Benn26/03/2018Leeds CentralLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley26/03/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Martin Whitfield26/03/2018East LothianLabourSigned
Seema Malhotra27/03/2018Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Ruth George27/03/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff28/03/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan28/03/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown28/03/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon28/03/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Edward Davey29/03/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jamie Stone29/03/2018Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Alison Thewliss29/03/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Michael Penning16/04/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Kirsty Blackman16/04/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Nandy16/04/2018WiganLabourSigned
Mhairi Black16/04/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Gareth Snell16/04/2018Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Hannah Bardell16/04/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil16/04/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Sandy Martin18/04/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Thelma Walker18/04/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Drew Hendry23/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry23/04/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Grahame Morris24/04/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn30/04/2018JarrowLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.