Parliament Website

Sainsbury's And The Fairtrade Mark

EDM number 142 in 2017-19, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 06/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Companies, International development, International trade and Standards.

That this House deeply regrets the decision by the supermarket Sainsbury's to drop the Fairtrade mark for its own-brand tea and develop its own certification scheme; notes that the Fairtrade Foundation is a respected organisation and part of a global network that strives to ensure that farmers and workers in developing countries get a better deal for their produce; considers the distinctive and globally-recognised Fairtrade mark to be synonymous with ethical trade and quality for UK consumers; further notes that, in 2015, the UK Fairtrade market was worth an estimated £1.6 billion in retail sales, generating an estimated £29.8 million in Fairtrade Premium, a communal fund for workers and farmers to use, as they see fit, to improve their social, economic and environmental conditions; notes that the Fairtrade Standard protects workers' basic rights, including ensuring a safe working environment, the right to join a trade union and negotiate with their employer on wages and conditions, and prohibits discrimination and forced or illegal child labour; considers the Fairtrade Foundation to have a proven track record over 25 years of making a real and significant difference to the lives of farmers and workers, and of supporting better farming, strong cooperatives and investment in collective assets to improve crops and yields; and urges other supermarkets to remain with and strengthen their commitment to Fairtrade certification.

This motion has been signed by a total of 70 MPs.

Caroline Lucas06/07/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Peter Bottomley06/07/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Hywel Williams06/07/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Tom Brake06/07/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Catherine McKinnell06/07/2017Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSeconded
Chris Law06/07/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Christine Jardine06/07/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Stuart McDonald06/07/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford06/07/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day06/07/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry06/07/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Luke Pollard06/07/2017Plymouth, Sutton and DevonportLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Norman Lamb06/07/2017North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Jon Cruddas06/07/2017Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard06/07/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Gareth Thomas06/07/2017Harrow WestLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil06/07/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Wera Hobhouse06/07/2017BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gray06/07/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Jamie Stone06/07/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Alison Thewliss06/07/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff06/07/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Edward Davey06/07/2017Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tim Farron06/07/2017Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Patrick Grady06/07/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
David Linden06/07/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Jeremy Lefroy06/07/2017StaffordConservativeSigned
Tonia Antoniazzi06/07/2017GowerLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins06/07/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Jo Swinson06/07/2017East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Kate Green06/07/2017Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
David Drew06/07/2017Signed
Stephen Doughty06/07/2017Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Laura Smith06/07/2017Crewe and NantwichLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts06/07/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Jonathan Edwards06/07/2017Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Ben Lake06/07/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Wes Streeting06/07/2017Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Ian Mearns06/07/2017GatesheadLabourSigned
Layla Moran06/07/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Pete Wishart06/07/2017Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn06/07/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Stewart McDonald10/07/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens10/07/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Angela Smith10/07/2017Penistone and StocksbridgeLabourSigned
Gareth Snell11/07/2017Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Angela Crawley11/07/2017Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
John McNally11/07/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Thelma Walker11/07/2017Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Brown11/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham11/07/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham12/07/2017Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Patricia Gibson12/07/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Lloyd12/07/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Brendan O'Hara12/07/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon13/07/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Ian Blackford13/07/2017Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Rushanara Ali13/07/2017Bethnal Green and BowLabourSigned
Stewart Hosie17/07/2017Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon17/07/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Alex Sobel17/07/2017Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Vincent Cable20/07/2017TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Grant20/07/2017GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Alistair Carmichael05/09/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Deidre Brock05/09/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Clive Lewis05/09/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Sandy Martin09/10/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Jared O'Mara09/10/2017Sheffield, HallamLabourSigned
Harriet Harman12/10/2017Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner27/11/2017CambridgeLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.