Parliament Website

End Degrading Treatment Of Political Prisoners In Bahrain

EDM number 1631 in 2017-19, proposed by Tom Brake on 13/09/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights and Middle East.

That this House deplores the degrading treatment of political prisoners in Bahrain; is appalled by the inhuman conditions of detention facilities as described by the UN Human Rights Committee in July 2018, particularly in Jau prison, including unsanitary conditions, severe overcrowding, inadequate access to drinking water and unhygienic toilet facilities; is concerned about the arbitrary and extrajudicial arrest of 13 Bahraini opposition leaders who were subjected to torture and unlawfully convicted by a military court in 2011; condemns the deliberate targeting of Hassan Mushaima, who is being denied unconditional access to medical care, family visits and books; notes with dismay that Dr Abduljalil Al-Singace and Abdulwahab Husain are victims of similar punitive measures; is concerned that the violations of Mr Mushaima's rights have caused his son to launch a hunger strike outside the Bahraini Embassy in London, and that the political prisoner Ali Hajji is also on a hunger strike to protest degrading treatment in Jau prison; expresses further concern that the UK has provided over £5 million in technical assistance programmes to Bahrain to train human rights oversight bodies, which appear to have systematically failed to investigate thoroughly human rights abuses and whitewashed torture in Bahraini prisons; urges the Government to suspend the programme until Bahrain abides by its international human rights obligations, including the UN Standard Minimum Rules for the Treatment of Prisoners; and calls for the immediate release of all political prisoners, including the Bahrain 13.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

Tom Brake13/09/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Matt Western09/10/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris09/10/2018EasingtonLabourSeconded
Paul Farrelly09/10/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSeconded
George Howarth09/10/2018KnowsleyLabourSeconded
Tim Farron09/10/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Drew Hendry09/10/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon09/10/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Alan Brown09/10/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell09/10/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Andy Slaughter09/10/2018HammersmithLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle09/10/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Jim Cunningham09/10/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins10/10/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards10/10/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Law10/10/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Karen Buck10/10/2018Westminster NorthLabourSigned
Wera Hobhouse10/10/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon10/10/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Martyn Day10/10/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts10/10/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Emma Reynolds11/10/2018Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
Chris Stephens11/10/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon11/10/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Ruth George11/10/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Stewart McDonald11/10/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Adrian Bailey11/10/2018West Bromwich WestLabourSigned
Graham Stringer15/10/2018Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Hilary Benn15/10/2018Leeds CentralLabourSigned
Ben Lake15/10/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Jon Cruddas17/10/2018Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Chris Williamson18/10/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned
Christine Jardine22/10/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas22/10/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Fiona Bruce23/10/2018CongletonConservativeSigned
Stephen Gethins23/10/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
John Cryer24/10/2018Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Douglas Chapman26/10/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Teresa Pearce01/11/2018Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Stephen Twigg01/11/2018Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Pete Wishart06/11/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
John Mann12/11/2018BassetlawLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael19/11/2018Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper20/11/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd20/11/2018EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.