Parliament Website

Release Of Nabeel Rajab

EDM number 230 in 2017-19, proposed by Tom Brake on 20/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights, International politics and government, Media, Middle East and Prisons.

That this House condemns the sentence passed on Nabeel Rajab, President of the Bahrain Center for Human Rights, who was sentenced on 10 July 2017 to two years in prison; notes that Nabeel Rajab's offence was talking to journalists and therefore relates to freedom of expression and that the charge against him was for publishing and broadcasting false news that undermines the prestige of the state; highlights the fact that Nabeel Rajab's prosecution violates the principles of a fair trial enshrined in article 20 of Bahrain's constitution and article 14 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights; further notes that the Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights and the UN Committee Against Torture have called for his release; expresses concern that Nabeel Rajab has spent much of his time in pre-detention in solitary confinement and is currently in hospital due to health concerns which have been exacerbated by his treatment in prison; notes that Nabeel Rajab faces another trial on 7 August 2017 in relation to his Twitter account, for which he potentially faces up to 15 years in prison for criticising the war in Yemen and torture in Bahrain; notes that Nabeel Rajab also faces additional charges for writing articles in the New York Times and Le Monde; calls on the Government to condemn his sentence; and further calls on the Government of Bahrain immediately release Nabeel Rajab, commute his sentence, drop outstanding charges and to release all human rights defenders.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Tom Brake20/07/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Peter Bottomley20/07/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Paul Farrelly05/09/2017Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSeconded
Christine Jardine06/09/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andy Slaughter06/09/2017HammersmithLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon06/09/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jim Cunningham06/09/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner07/09/2017CambridgeLabourSigned
Hilary Benn07/09/2017Leeds CentralLabourSigned
Layla Moran11/09/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Matt Western11/09/2017Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Martyn Day11/09/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
David Linden11/09/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Frank Field11/09/2017BirkenheadLabourSigned
John Grogan11/09/2017Signed
Ann Clwyd11/09/2017Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Mary Glindon11/09/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Lady Hermon12/09/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Rosie Cooper12/09/2017West LancashireLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins13/09/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown09/10/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Wera Hobhouse09/10/2017BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Drew Hendry09/10/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Harriet Harman12/10/2017Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSigned
Sandy Martin17/10/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Sammy Wilson22/01/2018East AntrimDUPSigned
Jo Stevens20/02/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas20/02/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Albert Owen27/02/2018Ynys MLabourSigned
Stephen Doughty05/03/2018Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Anna McMorrin21/03/2018Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Stuart McDonald04/06/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards26/06/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.