Parliament Website

Press Freedom In Turkey

EDM number 231 in 2017-19, proposed by Tom Brake on 20/07/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Eastern Europe, Human rights, International politics and government, Media and Middle East.

That this House expresses concern regarding the upcoming trial of the 19 journalists from the newspaper Cumhuriyet in Turkey, which starts on 24 July 2017; calls for the release of these journalists and all other journalists and human rights defenders imprisoned in Turkey in connection with their work; believes that this trial represents a crackdown on freedom of speech in Turkey by the Turkish Government which has seriously accelerated under the state of emergency over the last year; further calls on the Government to ensure that in all discussions with its Turkish counterparts the protection of freedom of speech, freedom of expression and independence of the press is raised; is disappointed that Turkey was ranked 155th out of 180 countries in Reporters Without Borders' 2017 World Press Freedom Index; and condemns the prolonged arbitrary detention without reason and the isolation of detainees by the Turkish Government, which represents a violation of international law.

This motion has been signed by a total of 16 MPs.

Tom Brake20/07/2017Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Peter Bottomley20/07/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Stewart McDonald06/09/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Liz Saville Roberts07/09/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Jim Cunningham11/09/2017Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
David Linden11/09/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon11/09/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Lady Hermon12/09/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Carol Monaghan12/09/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law12/09/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Paul Flynn12/09/2017Newport WestLabourSigned
Stephen Gethins13/09/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Alistair Carmichael09/10/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Brown09/10/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Jo Swinson09/10/2017East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Drew Hendry09/10/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.