Parliament Website

Police Widows' Pensions

EDM number 242 in 2017-19, proposed by Stephen Lloyd on 05/09/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Death, Marriage, Pensions and Police.

That this House recognises the service of any person who makes the ultimate sacrifice on behalf of their country, and leaves behind family members and loved ones; is deeply concerned that the Police Pension Regulations 1987 do not allow police widows or widowers the opportunity to marry or cohabit, without losing their right to a police widows’ or widowers’ pension for life; agrees with the Police Federation of England and Wales that it is morally deplorable to make widows and widowers, and by extension their dependents, effectively choose between future financial security and the possibility of future personal happiness; welcomes the fact that the Police Pension Regulations 2006 allow new entrants or serving officers to transfer to a new scheme which permits their survivors to access benefits which are payable for life regardless of whether they remarry; regrets that nevertheless many police widows and widowers still remain disadvantaged by the Police Pensions Regulations 1987; and calls on the Government to review the situation, in order to ensure parity and fairness with police widows and widowers in all parts of the UK, as a matter of urgency.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Stephen Lloyd05/09/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratProposed
Keith Vaz05/09/2017Leicester EastLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon06/09/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jim Cunningham06/09/2017Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Gavin Robinson06/09/2017Belfast EastDUPSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins06/09/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Liz Saville Roberts07/09/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Bob Blackman07/09/2017Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Mary Glindon11/09/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Ruth George11/09/2017High PeakLabourSigned
David Simpson12/09/2017Upper BannDUPSigned
Mike Hill12/09/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
Lady Hermon12/09/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Ronnie Cowan13/09/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson13/09/2017Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Ben Lake13/09/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle14/09/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Hugh Gaffney14/09/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Jo Swinson09/10/2017East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Thelma Walker09/10/2017Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Stephanie Peacock16/10/2017Barnsley EastLabourSigned
Sandy Martin17/10/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Liz Twist03/11/2017BlaydonLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.