Parliament Website

Auchengeich Colliery Disaster

EDM number 332 in 2017-19, proposed by Hugh Gaffney on 09/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Coal and Industrial health and safety.

That this House notes that 18 September 2017 marked the 58th anniversary of the Auchengeich Colliery disaster, in which 47 miners went to work never to return home to their families, leaving 76 children without a father and a community devastated; recognises the fact that the youngest man to die was 22 years old and the oldest was 62 and that these men gave their lives to building better communities for working class people; regretfully acknowledges that in 1959 a further 42 men lost their lives working in the pits; commends the support extended to the community throughout the years, ensuring everlasting memory and sustenance for the stricken families, alongside a still saddened community; and undertakes never to forget the sacrifices made by all those who were killed, injured or otherwise affected by mining accidents across the UK.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Hugh Gaffney09/10/2017Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourProposed
Jim Cunningham09/10/2017Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Catherine West09/10/2017Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSeconded
Martin Whitfield09/10/2017East LothianLabourSeconded
Alison McGovern09/10/2017Wirral SouthLabourSeconded
Ian Mearns09/10/2017GatesheadLabourSeconded
Ged Killen09/10/2017Rutherglen and Hamilton WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Grahame Morris09/10/2017EasingtonLabourSigned
Dan Carden09/10/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Neil Gray09/10/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Preet Kaur Gill10/10/2017Birmingham, EdgbastonLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Laura Smith10/10/2017Crewe and NantwichLabourSigned
Lady Hermon10/10/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Marie Rimmer11/10/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell11/10/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Martin Docherty11/10/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner11/10/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Martyn Day11/10/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/10/2017Luton NorthLabourSigned
Julian Lewis12/10/2017New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Chris Stephens12/10/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma16/10/2017Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Christine Jardine16/10/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
David Linden16/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Mike Amesbury16/10/2017Weaver ValeLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd16/10/2017Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Ruth George17/10/2017High PeakLabourSigned
Stuart McDonald23/10/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands24/10/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown25/10/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Sandy Martin06/11/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Tim Farron26/06/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.