Parliament Website

Contaminated Blood Inquiry

EDM number 408 in 2017-19, proposed by Diana R Johnson on 16/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases, Health services, Patient rights and complaints and Public inquiries.

That this House welcomes the Prime Minister's announcement of an inquiry into the contaminated blood scandal; thanks the Rt. Rev James Jones, former Chair of the Hillsborough Independent Panel, for his voluntary help; supports the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Haemophilia and Contaminated Blood's statement to the Prime Minister about the inquiry on 3 October 2017; and in line with that statement, resolves that the Department of Health is implicated in the disaster, and thus cannot sponsor the inquiry, fund it in any way or oversee the consultation; notes that a statutory inquiry must be established under the Inquiries Act 2005; further notes that the inquiry must put families first, consulting those affected on the chair, panel and terms of reference ensuring they are supported by a public-facing, engaging and properly resourced inquiry secretariat; believes that the inquiry must be led by a panel in addition to a Chair, and the Chair need not necessarily be a judge, that people affected require assurance that the inquiry's conclusions are arrived at independently, without influence from implicated parties, that the inquiry's terms of reference must cover the aftermath of the scandal as well as the run-up to the scandal, including the ex gratia support scheme and allegations of a criminal cover-up; and resolves that the inquiry must not be inhibited by any likelihood of criminal or civil liability being inferred from facts it determines or recommendations it makes and that provided the above condition are satisfied, a Chair to the inquiry can be appointed in November 2017.

This motion has been signed by a total of 53 MPs.

Diana Johnson16/10/2017Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley16/10/2017Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon16/10/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins16/10/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Christine Jardine16/10/2017Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Marie Rimmer17/10/2017St Helens South and WhistonLabourSeconded
Jim Cunningham17/10/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Chris Matheson18/10/2017City of ChesterLabourSigned
Philippa Whitford18/10/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens18/10/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon18/10/2017North DownIndependentSigned
George Howarth19/10/2017KnowsleyLabourSigned
Mary Glindon19/10/2017North TynesideLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle19/10/2017Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Gordon Marsden20/10/2017Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Liz Saville Roberts20/10/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Marion Fellows23/10/2017Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan23/10/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty23/10/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald23/10/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black23/10/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley23/10/2017Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry23/10/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan23/10/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady23/10/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Kate Hollern24/10/2017BlackburnLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff24/10/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Alison Thewliss24/10/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law24/10/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
David Linden24/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard24/10/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Layla Moran24/10/2017Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Douglas Chapman24/10/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Bob Blackman24/10/2017Harrow EastConservativeSigned
Alan Brown25/10/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Ben Lake25/10/2017CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Andy Slaughter25/10/2017HammersmithLabourSigned
Dan Carden26/10/2017Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas26/10/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Joan Ryan26/10/2017Signed
Stephen Lloyd30/10/2017EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Pete Wishart30/10/2017Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Anne Main30/10/2017St AlbansConservativeSigned
Hywel Williams31/10/2017ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Thelma Walker31/10/2017Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Gareth Snell01/11/2017Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Jessica Morden02/11/2017Newport EastLabourSigned
Tonia Antoniazzi02/11/2017GowerLabourSigned
Liz Twist03/11/2017BlaydonLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael06/11/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Alex Sobel07/11/2017Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Ruth George16/11/2017High PeakLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.