Parliament Website

Detention Of Ahed Tamimi

EDM number 728 in 2017-19, proposed by Philippa Whitford on 21/12/2017.
Categorised under the topics of International politics and government and Middle East.

That this House expresses deep concern that in the early hours of 19 December an Israeli Border Police unit broke into the Tamimi family home during a night raid in Nabi Saleh and arrested 17-year-­old Ahed Tamimi, taking her away for interrogation; believes that Ahed is targeted because she is the daughter of parents who are leading activists in the popular struggle against the occupation in the village of Nabi Saleh; acknowledges the reality of repression against ordinary Palestinians and notes the disproportionate response to any action taken by Ahed and rejects the routine use of night arrests and interrogation of minors by Israeli military forces which fuel further hatred and division; calls for the immediate unconditional release of Ahed Tamimi; and asks the Government to make representations to Israel that actions carried out by the occupying power that are not necessitated by genuine security concerns are in violation of the laws governing military occupation.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs.

Philippa Whitford21/12/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartyProposed
Kelvin Hopkins21/12/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Crispin Blunt21/12/2017ReigateConservativeSeconded
Grahame Morris21/12/2017EasingtonLabourSeconded
Tommy Sheppard21/12/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySeconded
Hannah Bardell21/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySeconded
Alistair Carmichael21/12/2017Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Caroline Lucas21/12/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Andy Slaughter21/12/2017HammersmithLabourSigned
Julie Elliott21/12/2017Sunderland CentralLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley21/12/2017Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Lisa Nandy21/12/2017WiganLabourSigned
Patrick Grady08/01/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Thelma Walker08/01/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Brown08/01/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Jim Cunningham08/01/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Richard Burden08/01/2018Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Ruth Cadbury08/01/2018Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Laura Pidcock08/01/2018North West DurhamLabourSigned
Naseem Shah08/01/2018Bradford WestLabourSigned
Ben Lake08/01/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Daniel Zeichner08/01/2018CambridgeLabourSigned
Martyn Day09/01/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan09/01/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law09/01/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Mike Hill09/01/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
John Cryer09/01/2018Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Lady Hermon09/01/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Roger Godsiff09/01/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
David Linden09/01/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Mary Glindon10/01/2018North TynesideLabourSigned
Chris Stephens11/01/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Jared O'Mara15/01/2018Sheffield, HallamIndependentSigned
Keith Vaz15/01/2018Leicester EastLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer15/01/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Bambos Charalambous17/01/2018Enfield, SouthgateLabourSigned
Edward Davey18/01/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandy Martin19/01/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry22/01/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry22/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins24/01/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Rupa Huq24/01/2018Ealing Central and ActonLabourSigned
Ruth George29/01/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly02/02/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Hilary Benn05/02/2018Leeds CentralLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd08/02/2018Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Matt Western20/02/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas21/02/2018Dagenham and RainhamLabourSigned
Catherine West27/03/2018Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.