Parliament Website

Antarctic Ocean Sanctuary

EDM number 804 in 2017-19, proposed by Stephen Gethins on 16/01/2018.
Categorised under the topic of Marine environment.

That this House urges the Government to fulfil the demands of Greenpeace UK and use its role on the Antarctic Ocean Commission to help build an 1.8 million square kilometre Antarctic Ocean Sanctuary in the continent's Weddell Sea to protect its marine life when the organisations makes its decision in 12 months' time; notes these waters not only support marine life including whales, seals and penguins, as recently shown on the BBC's Blue Planet 2, but also soak up carbon dioxide and help us to tackle climate change; is concerned that a warming climate and an expanding commercial fishing industry are threatening this undisturbed area and its iconic creatures; and expects the Government will not miss out on this rare opportunity to protect this most vital ocean.

This motion has been signed by a total of 38 MPs.

Stephen Gethins16/01/2018North East FifeScottish National PartyProposed
Peter Bottomley16/01/2018Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Tim Farron17/01/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Chris Law17/01/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Cunningham17/01/2018Coventry SouthLabourSeconded
Jonathan Edwards17/01/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Martyn Day17/01/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens17/01/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon18/01/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Edward Davey18/01/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Shannon18/01/2018StrangfordDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/01/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Penning18/01/2018Hemel HempsteadConservativeSigned
Sandy Martin19/01/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Zac Goldsmith23/01/2018Richmond ParkConservativeSigned
Christine Jardine23/01/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Carol Monaghan24/01/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Grahame Morris24/01/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Mike Hill24/01/2018HartlepoolLabourSigned
Mike Gapes24/01/2018Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Douglas Chapman24/01/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
John McNally24/01/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady24/01/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Ben Lake25/01/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Tommy Sheppard05/02/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell08/02/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry20/02/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/02/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry20/02/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Liz Twist10/05/2018BlaydonLabourSigned
Jamie Stone14/06/2018Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Deidre Brock18/06/2018Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Layla Moran20/06/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Grogan25/06/2018Signed
Mohammad Yasin26/06/2018BedfordLabourSigned
Catherine McKinnell04/07/2018Newcastle upon Tyne NorthLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas18/07/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Jo Swinson04/09/2018East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.