Parliament Website

Funding For The Work Of Unwra In Support Of Palestinian Refugees

EDM number 817 in 2017-19, proposed by Richard Burden on 17/01/2018.
Categorised under the topics of International development, Middle East, North America and United Nations.

That this House is appalled by the announcement by the US Administration that it is to cut its funding for the United Nations Relief and Works Agency by more than half; notes that this decision threatens the human security of millions of Palestinian refugees, including those in need of emergency food assistance and other support in Jordan, Lebanon, Syria, the West Bank and Gaza; is concerned that this will also impact on Palestinian refugees' access to primary health care and the right to education of 525,000 boys and girls in 700 UNRWA schools; and calls on the Government to reaffirm the UK's support for UNRWA, to ask the United Nations Secretary General to convene a special conference to develop new funding alliances to secure the future of UNRWA, to make representations to the World Bank and IDB Trust Fund urgently to consider the case for supporting UNRWA and to promote the public appeal for funds that UNRWA has launched.

This motion has been signed by a total of 57 MPs.

Richard Burden17/01/2018Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourProposed
Andy Slaughter17/01/2018HammersmithLabourSeconded
Alistair Carmichael17/01/2018Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lisa Nandy17/01/2018WiganLabourSeconded
Philippa Whitford17/01/2018Central AyrshireScottish National PartySeconded
Crispin Blunt17/01/2018ReigateConservativeSeconded
Ruth Cadbury17/01/2018Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Rushanara Ali17/01/2018Bethnal Green and BowLabourSigned
Neil Gray17/01/2018Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Tom Brake17/01/2018Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Clwyd17/01/2018Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi17/01/2018Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham17/01/2018Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas17/01/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Clive Betts17/01/2018Sheffield South EastLabourSigned
William Wragg17/01/2018Hazel GroveConservativeSigned
Chris Bryant17/01/2018RhonddaLabourSigned
Shabana Mahmood17/01/2018Birmingham, LadywoodLabourSigned
Tommy Sheppard17/01/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Grahame Morris17/01/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham17/01/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Karen Buck17/01/2018Westminster NorthLabourSigned
Mike Gapes17/01/2018Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Nicholas Soames17/01/2018Mid SussexConservativeSigned
Stephen Twigg17/01/2018Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Hilary Benn17/01/2018Leeds CentralLabourSigned
Stephen Kinnock17/01/2018AberavonLabourSigned
Seema Malhotra17/01/2018Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Stephen Timms17/01/2018East HamLabourSigned
Chris Law17/01/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon18/01/2018North DownIndependentSigned
Edward Davey18/01/2018Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandy Martin19/01/2018IpswichLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner22/01/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Patrick Grady22/01/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts23/01/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Evans23/01/2018IslwynLabourSigned
Tim Farron23/01/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley23/01/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Jo Stevens23/01/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Christine Jardine23/01/2018Edinburgh WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Marie Rimmer23/01/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Brendan O'Hara23/01/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins23/01/2018Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ben Lake23/01/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Chris Stephens24/01/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Rupa Huq24/01/2018Ealing Central and ActonLabourSigned
Carol Monaghan24/01/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Faisal Rashid31/01/2018Warrington SouthLabourSigned
Layla Moran01/02/2018Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby07/02/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell08/02/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Lloyd20/02/2018EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Gethins20/02/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/02/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry20/02/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Thelma Walker26/10/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.