Parliament Website

Long-Term Conditions And Prescription Charges

EDM number 82 in 2017-19, proposed by Melanie Onn on 28/06/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases, Health finance, Health services, Incomes and poverty and Medicine.

That this House is aware that people with long-term conditions in England, such as heart disease, cystic fibrosis or multiple sclerosis still have to pay prescription charges unlike their counterparts in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland; notes that the medical exemption list of conditions that qualify people for free prescriptions in England today was compiled in 1968 and is based on the medical understandings and technology available nearly 50 years ago, with the exception of cancer, which is unique in having been added to the list in 2009; is deeply concerned by a recent Prescription Charges Coalition survey of 4,264 people with long-term conditions who have to pay for prescriptions which found that one-third of respondents did not collect a prescription due to the cost, while others skipped or reduced their recommended doses, with serious impacts on respondents' health resulting in additional treatment and time off work; recognises that the financial benefits of extending the medical exemption list to people with long-term conditions is likely to exceed the cost, which for 2015-16 would have been less than 0.5 per cent of the NHS budget, because of significant savings to be made for both the NHS wider economy if emergency admissions are avoided and work days and productivity are not lost; and urges the Government, as we approach the 50th anniversary of the medical exemption list, to review the list with a view to adding all long-term conditions in line with the Gilmore Report of 2009 on the Prescription Charges Review.

This motion has been signed by a total of 50 MPs.

Melanie Onn28/06/2017Great GrimsbyLabourProposed
Rachael Maskell29/06/2017York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins29/06/2017Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon29/06/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Mary Glindon29/06/2017North TynesideLabourSeconded
Rosie Cooper29/06/2017West LancashireLabourSeconded
David Drew29/06/2017Signed
Clive Lewis29/06/2017Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Chris Stephens29/06/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Peter Bottomley29/06/2017Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mike Gapes29/06/2017Ilford SouthLabourSigned
David Simpson29/06/2017Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Cunningham29/06/2017Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas29/06/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Stephen Timms29/06/2017East HamLabourSigned
Graham Jones29/06/2017HyndburnLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner03/07/2017BolsoverLabourSigned
Mike Hill04/07/2017HartlepoolLabourSigned
Matt Western04/07/2017Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner04/07/2017CambridgeLabourSigned
Lady Hermon04/07/2017North DownIndependentSigned
Gareth Snell05/07/2017Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Ruth Smeeth05/07/2017Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell05/07/2017Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Emma Hardy05/07/2017Kingston upon Hull West and HessleLabourSigned
Ruth George05/07/2017High PeakLabourSigned
Stuart McDonald10/07/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown10/07/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard10/07/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron11/07/2017East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff11/07/2017Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Angela Crawley11/07/2017Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Kate Green12/07/2017Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Stephen McCabe13/07/2017Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Bambos Charalambous13/07/2017Enfield, SouthgateLabourSigned
Philippa Whitford17/07/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Keith Vaz17/07/2017Leicester EastLabourSigned
Patrick Grady17/07/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Bill Esterson20/07/2017Sefton CentralLabourSigned
David Crausby20/07/2017Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Geraint Davies20/07/2017Swansea WestLabourSigned
Norman Lamb05/09/2017North NorfolkLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandy Martin09/10/2017IpswichLabourSigned
Douglas Chapman09/10/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Toby Perkins31/01/2018ChesterfieldLabourSigned
George Howarth23/05/2018KnowsleyLabourSigned
Grahame Morris23/05/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Tim Farron23/05/2018Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Mearns24/05/2018GatesheadLabourSigned
Chris Williamson04/09/2018Derby NorthLabourSigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.