Parliament Website

Carillion And Small Business Payments

EDM number 840 in 2017-19, proposed by James Frith on 23/01/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Companies, Insolvency and Small businesses.

That this House believes that small businesses must not be punished for the misdeeds of a failed large company; notes that the collapse of Carillion highlights the payment abuse suffered by sub-contractors engaged in the delivery of public contracts for a Prime contractor; further notes that 30-day payment regulations for public sector contracts are routinely ignored by Prime contractors and left unenforced, which facilitate practices such as Carillion's 126-day payment terms, leaving thousands of SMEs exposed; in addition, notes that £700 million has been lost in the supply chain over the last three years as retention fees are held back from subcontractors by Prime contractors while it reported that Carillion alone will see £800 million of such fees disappear, along with an amassed £1.5 billion in unsecured debt; calls on the Government to honour all outstanding payments on public contracts for work completed; further calls on the Government to protect local economies and jobs by ensuring redistributed contracts remain with SMEs; calls on the Government to take action to enforce public sector 30-day payment regulations with consequences including the disqualification of those that do not comply from winning public contracts; and calls on the Government to introduce new legislative proposals to place construction retentions into secure and independently held deposit protection schemes and tougher measures to limit borrowing against public contracts.

This motion has been signed by a total of 61 MPs.

James Frith23/01/2018Bury NorthLabourProposed
Alison McGovern24/01/2018Wirral SouthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon24/01/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Paul Williams24/01/2018Stockton SouthLabourSeconded
Stephen Twigg24/01/2018Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Daniel Zeichner24/01/2018CambridgeLabourSigned
Hugh Gaffney24/01/2018Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley24/01/2018Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Chris Stephens24/01/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Robinson24/01/2018Belfast EastDUPSigned
Paul Farrelly24/01/2018Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
Mohammad Yasin24/01/2018BedfordLabourSigned
Grahame Morris24/01/2018EasingtonLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma24/01/2018Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Wes Streeting24/01/2018Ilford NorthLabourSigned
Lloyd Russell-Moyle24/01/2018Brighton, KemptownLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Ruth Smeeth24/01/2018Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Gareth Snell24/01/2018Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Mike Gapes24/01/2018Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Alex Sobel25/01/2018Leeds North WestLabour/Co-operativeSeconded
Faisal Rashid25/01/2018Warrington SouthLabourSigned
Helen Hayes25/01/2018Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Thelma Walker25/01/2018Colne ValleyLabourSigned
Mike Amesbury25/01/2018Weaver ValeLabourSigned
Marie Rimmer25/01/2018St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Harriet Harman25/01/2018Camberwell and PeckhamLabourSigned
Martyn Day25/01/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Campbell25/01/2018Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff25/01/2018Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd25/01/2018EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Dennis Skinner25/01/2018BolsoverLabourSigned
Stephen Kinnock25/01/2018AberavonLabourSigned
Kate Green25/01/2018Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Teresa Pearce25/01/2018Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Fiona Onasanya25/01/2018PeterboroughLabourSigned
Matt Western25/01/2018Warwick and LeamingtonLabourSigned
Martin Whitfield25/01/2018East LothianLabourSigned
Ellie Reeves25/01/2018Lewisham West and PengeLabourSigned
Rosie Duffield25/01/2018CanterburyLabourSigned
Anna McMorrin25/01/2018Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Ged Killen25/01/2018Rutherglen and Hamilton WestLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Rosie Cooper25/01/2018West LancashireLabourSigned
Emma Dent Coad29/01/2018KensingtonLabourSeconded
Jonathan Edwards29/01/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Gordon Henderson29/01/2018Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Naseem Shah29/01/2018Bradford WestLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham29/01/2018Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Alan Brown29/01/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Wera Hobhouse31/01/2018BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Stevens31/01/2018Cardiff CentralLabourSigned
Ruth George01/02/2018High PeakLabourSigned
Margaret Hodge02/02/2018BarkingLabourSigned
Ben Lake06/02/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
John Spellar06/02/2018WarleyLabourSigned
Sandy Martin06/02/2018IpswichLabourSigned
David Crausby07/02/2018Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Hannah Bardell08/02/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman20/02/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins20/02/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Tonia Antoniazzi20/02/2018GowerLabourSigned
Drew Hendry20/02/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.