Parliament Website

Death Of Jay Abatan

EDM number 758 in 2006-07, proposed by Desmond Turner on 26/01/2007.

That this House expresses concern that eight years after Jay Abatan was killed in a racist attack in Brighton his murderers have still not been brought to justice; notes that subsequent reports into Jay Abatan's murder have revealed flaws in the way the investigation was conducted by the police, and that these investigations have revealed that different police forces are operating different standards and practices during murder investigations and appear not to have implemented the recommendations emanating from the Macpherson report; further notes that it is standard procedure for any death that may have been unlawful to be examined in a public hearing and that Jay Abatan did not receive this; calls for an immediate inquest and for a Gold Group investigation of the Brighton and Sussex police force investigation into Jay's death; and therefore requests an undertaking from the Home Secretary that police force practices will be standardised and that an inquiry into the implementation of the Macpherson recommendations will be conducted across all police forces in England and Wales.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Desmond Turner26/01/2007Brighton, KemptownLabourProposed
John McDonnell26/01/2007Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley29/01/2007Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
David Drew29/01/2007StroudLabourSeconded
Bob Spink29/01/2007Castle PointConservativeSeconded
Keith Vaz29/01/2007Leicester EastLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock29/01/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins30/01/2007Luton NorthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones30/01/2007Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden30/01/2007Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Alan Meale30/01/2007MansfieldLabourSigned
Martin Caton30/01/2007GowerLabourSigned
Derek Conway30/01/2007Old Bexley & SidcupConservativeSigned
Andrew Dismore30/01/2007HendonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn30/01/2007Newport WestLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn31/01/2007Islington NorthLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle31/01/2007ChorleyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson31/01/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell01/02/2007Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Vincent Cable01/02/2007TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard01/02/2007WalthamstowLabourSigned
Robert Wareing01/02/2007Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSigned
Dai Davies01/02/2007Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Ann Cryer02/02/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
Betty Williams05/02/2007ConwyLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins06/02/2007TamworthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell06/02/2007Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Janet Dean07/02/2007BurtonLabourSigned
Katy Clark08/02/2007North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Linda Riordan08/02/2007HalifaxLabourSigned
Lorely Burt21/02/2007SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming27/02/2007Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.