Parliament Website


EDM number 1415 in 2007-08, proposed by Nicholas Winterton on 23/04/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Asia, Diseases, Health education and preventive medicine and United Nations.

That this House regrets that the World Health Organisation (WHO) has opposed including Taiwan's participation as an observer to the World Health Assembly (WHA) on its agenda since 1997; notes that the 61st WHA will convene between 19th and 24th May 2008; recognises that disease knows no boundaries or politics and there should be no gap or weak spot in the world's disease prevention network; contends that Taiwan should not become the only gap in the global public health network; applauds Taiwan's strong desire to work with international health institutions through medical co-operation and emergency humanitarian work; further applauds the valuable medical assistance and humanitarian aid provided by Taiwan's public and private sectors worldwide exceeding US$450 million over the last decade; further notes that Palestine, the Holy See, the Sovereign Military Order of Malta, the International Red Cross, the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies, and the Inter-Parliamentary Union have been granted observer status to the WHA; regrets that the Government has not supported Taiwan's WHA observer status or WHO membership; welcomes the fact that Taiwan would be willing to accept an arrangement to be a WHA observer so as to engage in direct access to and communication with the WHO before attaining WHO membership; strongly encourages the UK Government to support Taiwan's justifiable bids for WHO membership and preliminary WHA observer status; and urges the WHO Director-General to invite Taiwan as a WHA observer before granting WHO membership to ensure no gap in the global public health network.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Nicholas Winterton23/04/2008MacclesfieldConservativeProposed
Frank Cook23/04/2008Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock23/04/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Kenneth Clarke23/04/2008RushcliffeConservativeSeconded
Janet Anderson23/04/2008Rossendale and DarwenLabourSeconded
Philip Davies23/04/2008ShipleyConservativeSeconded
Andrew Rosindell23/04/2008RomfordConservativeSigned
Jim Dowd23/04/2008Lewisham WestLabourSigned
Ann Winterton23/04/2008CongletonConservativeSigned
Paul Holmes24/04/2008ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Evans24/04/2008Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
David Hamilton24/04/2008MidlothianLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley24/04/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Betty Williams25/04/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn28/04/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Bob Spink28/04/2008Castle PointUKIPSigned
Nick Harvey28/04/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Iris Robinson29/04/2008StrangfordDUPSigned
Bob Laxton29/04/2008Derby NorthLabourSigned
Colin Breed29/04/2008South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Claire Curtis-Thomas29/04/2008CrosbyLabourSigned
Brian H Donohoe29/04/2008Central AyrshireLabourSigned
Peter Viggers29/04/2008GosportConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis29/04/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
John Horam30/04/2008OrpingtonConservativeSigned
John Hemming30/04/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds30/04/2008Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Brian Jenkins30/04/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Ashok Kumar07/05/2008Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty07/05/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
John Pugh08/05/2008SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean08/05/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Derek Conway09/05/2008Old Bexley and SidcupIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.