Parliament Website


EDM number 1465 in 2007-08, proposed by David Taylor on 30/04/2008.
Categorised under the topic of Health services.

That this House notes the queue of private health companies, including Serco, United Health, Virgin Healthcare and Assura, lining up behind the Government's polyclinics policy; observes that a survey undertaken by The Pulse magazine shows 85 per cent. of general practitioners feel that polyclinics will harm patient care; believes that all new polyclinics would be built from scratch and is alarmed that the total cost of the Government's plans is unknown; is concerned that the taxpayer will fund any future construction programme through costly, lengthy and inflexible private finance initiative contracts such as the local improvement finance trust; is wary of Lord Darzi's comment that his review represents an important opportunity to take stock of the progress of recent years in improving the quality of care and up the pace of improvement going forward; regards the Darzi Review as the political engine for polyclinics; further believes that polyclinics would introduce a system of free market competition in NHS primary health care to the detriment of general practice, patient access, the general practitioner-patient relationship and public service; finds it ironic that those nations which have been delivering health care through polyclinics are now generally retreating towards the long-standing existing UK model; and calls upon the Government to scrap its plans for polyclinics and to suspend the Darzi Review.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

David Taylor30/04/2008North West LeicestershireLabourProposed
Ian Gibson30/04/2008Norwich NorthLabourSeconded
Bob Russell30/04/2008ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Nicholas Winterton01/05/2008MacclesfieldConservativeSeconded
Andrew George01/05/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bill Etherington01/05/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones06/05/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Frank Cook06/05/2008Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer06/05/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock06/05/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing06/05/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
James Gray07/05/2008North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis07/05/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Richard Taylor07/05/2008Wyre ForestIndependentSigned
David Drew07/05/2008StroudLabourSigned
Colin Burgon07/05/2008ElmetLabourSigned
Alan Simpson07/05/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham08/05/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Janet Dean08/05/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Ann Winterton08/05/2008CongletonConservativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/05/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley09/05/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Kate Hoey12/05/2008VauxhallLabourSigned
Katy Clark12/05/2008North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Martin Horwood13/05/2008CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Iris Robinson14/05/2008StrangfordDUPSigned
John Leech20/05/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Joe Benton03/06/2008BootleLabourSigned
Mark Hunter14/07/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.