Parliament Website

Herbal Remedies

EDM number 2080 in 2007-08, proposed by Nicholas Winterton on 16/07/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Health services and Medicine.

That this House notes that herbal remedies have for centuries made a valuable contribution to healthcare; acknowledges that successive Ministers have hoped that the Traditional Herbal Medicinal Products Directive would provide a safe future legal home for such products as older legislative provisions were withdrawn; is alarmed that only 35 applications for registration under the Directive have been received by the Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency, and only 14 registrations granted; fears that many smaller specialist manufacturers are deterred by the prohibitive costs and pharmaceutical testing regimes introduced by the legislation; warns that this risks the loss of thousands of safe and popular herbal remedies when the transitional period expires in 2011; and invites Ministers urgently to intervene to reduce the burdens of regulatory compliance and to persuade the European Union to review the legislation to prevent further damage to the herbal products sector.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

Nicholas Winterton16/07/2008MacclesfieldConservativeProposed
Kate Hoey16/07/2008VauxhallLabourSeconded
Austin Mitchell16/07/2008Great GrimsbyLabourSeconded
Mark Todd16/07/2008South DerbyshireLabourSeconded
John Pugh16/07/2008SouthportLiberal DemocratSeconded
William Cash16/07/2008StoneConservativeSeconded
David Drew16/07/2008StroudLabourSigned
Rudi Vis16/07/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Ann Winterton16/07/2008CongletonConservativeSigned
Brian Jenkins17/07/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Lee Scott17/07/2008Ilford NorthConservativeSigned
John Battle17/07/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
Mike Hancock17/07/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton17/07/2008GowerLabourSigned
Alan Meale17/07/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle17/07/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/07/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson17/07/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden21/07/2008Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Philip Davies21/07/2008ShipleyConservativeSigned
Betty Williams21/07/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell21/07/2008Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Sandra Gidley21/07/2008RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington21/07/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer21/07/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell21/07/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson21/07/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Brian Iddon21/07/2008Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Nick Harvey21/07/2008North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Dismore21/07/2008HendonLabourSigned
Andrew George22/07/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech22/07/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Anderson22/07/2008Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn22/07/2008Islington NorthLabourSigned
Vincent Cable22/07/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
David Maclean22/07/2008Penrith and The BorderConservativeSigned
Malcolm Moss06/10/2008North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Harry Cohen06/10/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Brian H Donohoe06/10/2008Central AyrshireLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff06/10/2008Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Dai Davies07/10/2008Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Stewart Hosie08/10/2008Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
John Mason08/10/2008Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.