Parliament Website

Seasonal Influenza

EDM number 2182 in 2007-08, proposed by Ian Gibson on 07/10/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases, Health education and preventive medicine and Vaccination.

That this House is concerned about the terrible impact of seasonal influenza each year on the health of the UK population; recognises the huge burden of influenza on NHS resources; notes that between 3,000 and 4,000 people die each year from influenza-related illnesses; congratulates the Department of Health on the success of its seasonal influenza vaccination campaign, particularly for those people aged 65 years and over, where vaccination coverage rates have reached over 73 per cent.; supports the Department in its decision to focus this year's campaign on those at risk under 65 years old; and calls for the Joint Committee on Vaccination and Immunisation to review the case for reducing the age for influenza vaccination to 50 years and above, and to introduce influenza vaccinations for all children between six months and two years of age to increase the overall uptake rates and to meet the World Health Organisation's target for population coverage.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Ian Gibson07/10/2008Norwich NorthLabourProposed
Bob Russell07/10/2008ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan07/10/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Andrew George07/10/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Taylor08/10/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Elfyn Llwyd08/10/2008Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSeconded
Jim Devine08/10/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Stephen Williams08/10/2008Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock08/10/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew08/10/2008StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore08/10/2008HendonLabourSigned
Martin Caton08/10/2008GowerLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell08/10/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned
Brian Iddon09/10/2008Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty09/10/2008Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Meale09/10/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Colin Breed09/10/2008South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer09/10/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Roger Williams09/10/2008Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter13/10/2008CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams13/10/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Robert Wareing13/10/2008Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Bill Etherington13/10/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Harry Cohen13/10/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Bob Spink13/10/2008Castle PointUKIPSigned
Paul Flynn13/10/2008Newport WestLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle14/10/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell14/10/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Simpson15/10/2008Upper BannDUPSigned
William McCrea15/10/2008South AntrimDUPSigned
Janet Dean15/10/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Hywel Francis15/10/2008AberavonLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley15/10/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis15/10/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Eric Illsley16/10/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
John Leech16/10/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Clapham16/10/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Paul Truswell17/10/2008PudseyLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard20/10/2008WalthamstowLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins21/10/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson22/10/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon22/10/2008North DownUUPSigned
Michael Jabez Foster22/10/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin30/10/2008Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Andy Reed06/11/2008LoughboroughLabourSigned
David Crausby12/11/2008Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.