Parliament Website


EDM number 2192 in 2007-08, proposed by Colin Challen on 07/10/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Environmental protection, Human rights, International politics and government and Latin America.

That this House welcomes the proposal of the Ecuadorian government to preserve the Yasuní forest by asking the international community to pay for not exploiting the oil reserves which lie underneath it; but believes that the proposal must include an unconditional, non-reversible commitment from the Ecuadorian government to preserve Yasuní and protect the human rights of its people and must include an unlimited extension of the time given to reach agreement on how to do this and an international process led by the Ecuadorian Government, with full participation from local and indigenous groups in the region, to create a clear, coherent and fully representative proposal for securing a long-term sustainable future for Yasuní; believes that this process should work in partnership with supportive non-governmental organisations and governments, and must also include a further assurance that any financial support from governments will come through an open, democratic and accountable process, and will not involve carbon trading, World Bank funding or debt cancellation schemes, which have proved ineffective in reducing carbon dioxide emissions and damaging to local people's rights around the world; and finally considers that the proposal must include an assurance that any other projects which may have a negative impact on the area will not be allowed to go ahead.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

Colin Challen07/10/2008Morley and RothwellLabourProposed
Andrew George07/10/2008St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan07/10/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Gordon Prentice08/10/2008PendleLabourSeconded
David Taylor08/10/2008North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Martin Caton08/10/2008GowerLabourSeconded
Desmond Turner08/10/2008Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Jim Devine08/10/2008LivingstonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock08/10/2008Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew08/10/2008StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore08/10/2008HendonLabourSigned
Colin Burgon08/10/2008ElmetLabourSigned
John Mann08/10/2008BassetlawLabourSigned
Lynne Jones08/10/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Alan Meale09/10/2008MansfieldLabourSigned
Ann Cryer09/10/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/10/2008Luton NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson13/10/2008Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Harry Cohen13/10/2008Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Bill Etherington13/10/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn13/10/2008Newport WestLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle14/10/2008ChorleyLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell14/10/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Janet Dean15/10/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley15/10/2008Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis15/10/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Ian McCartney16/10/2008MakerfieldLabourSigned
Michael Clapham16/10/2008Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
John Battle16/10/2008Leeds WestLabourSigned
John Leech16/10/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark17/10/2008North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins21/10/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson22/10/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Michael Jabez Foster22/10/2008Hastings and RyeLabourSigned
David Laws10/11/2008YeovilLiberal DemocratSigned
Paddy Tipping10/11/2008SherwoodLabourSigned
Joan Walley12/11/2008Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Vincent Cable17/11/2008TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Marshall-Andrews18/11/2008MedwayLabourSigned
John McDonnell20/11/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell20/11/2008Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Emily Thornberry20/11/2008Islington South and FinsburyLabourSigned
Nicholas Winterton24/11/2008MacclesfieldConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.