Parliament Website

Neuromuscular Support Services

EDM number 1851 in 2008-09, proposed by David Anderson on 13/07/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Diseases and Health services.

That this House welcomes the launch of the North East Muscle Group; notes that the new group is led by local families and people affected by muscular dystrophy and related neuromuscular conditions who will campaign to improve access to essential specialist care and support; is concerned to learn of the serious problems affecting the 2,500 people with muscular dystrophy and related neuromuscular conditions living in the North East region; further notes that access to multi-disciplinary specialist care improves overall health outcomes and survival for patients with muscular dystrophy and related neuromuscular conditions; calls on the North East Specialised Commissioning Group, local primary care trusts and the Strategic Health Authority to take forward a review of neuromuscular services which will identify areas of best practice and gaps in NHS service provision; and praises the campaign led by the Muscular Dystrophy Campaign, local families, health professionals and experts in these conditions who will work together to fight for good access to clinically effective, first class, specialised neuromuscular services across the North East region.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

David Anderson13/07/2009BlaydonLabourProposed
Nigel Evans13/07/2009Ribble ValleyConservativeSeconded
Andrew Dismore14/07/2009HendonLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin14/07/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Martin Caton14/07/2009GowerLabourSeconded
Alan Simpson14/07/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle14/07/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
William McCrea14/07/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
Jeremy Corbyn14/07/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer14/07/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Mark Durkan14/07/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mike Hancock14/07/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing15/07/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Rudi Vis15/07/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Hywel Francis15/07/2009AberavonLabourSigned
David Drew15/07/2009StroudLabourSigned
John Cummings15/07/2009EasingtonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell15/07/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell15/07/2009Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Stephen Hepburn15/07/2009JarrowLabourSigned
David Simpson15/07/2009Upper BannDUPSigned
Iris Robinson16/07/2009StrangfordDUPSigned
Nick Harvey16/07/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins16/07/2009TamworthLabourSigned
David Clelland16/07/2009Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds20/07/2009Belfast NorthDUPSigned
John Battle20/07/2009Leeds WestLabourSigned
John McDonnell21/07/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
John Leech21/07/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Frank Cook13/10/2009Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington22/10/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Janet Anderson26/10/2009Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.