Parliament Website

Swine Influenza And Transport Workers

EDM number 1959 in 2008-09, proposed by John McDonnell on 21/07/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Communicable diseases.

That this House believes transport workers may be at increased risk of infection from swine influenza as they are often in close contact with the public in confined places such as on trains, buses, ferries and planes; further believes any pandemic and consequential staff shortages could have a devastating impact on the provision of safe transport and the movement of essential goods and foodstuffs; notes reports that discussions have taken place between the Government and emergency services on the impact of swine influenza on transport services and on the production of guidelines for employers; further believes it is essential that the Government ensures that trade unions are fully involved and consulted; and calls on employers to suspend sickness absence policies until the threat of swine influenza has passed.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

John McDonnell21/07/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Gwyn Prosser21/07/2009DoverLabourSeconded
David Drew12/10/2009StroudLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock13/10/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley13/10/2009Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Frank Cook13/10/2009Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle13/10/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton13/10/2009GowerLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn13/10/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Robert Wareing13/10/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Ronnie Campbell14/10/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Dai Davies14/10/2009Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Rudi Vis14/10/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Janet Dean14/10/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Colin Burgon14/10/2009ElmetLabourSigned
Alan Simpson14/10/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
George Howarth15/10/2009Knowsley North and Sefton EastLabourSigned
Ian Stewart15/10/2009EcclesLabourSigned
Michael Clapham19/10/2009Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Ann Cryer19/10/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Dai Havard20/10/2009Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington22/10/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins27/10/2009TamworthLabourSigned
David Hamilton03/11/2009MidlothianLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.