Parliament Website

Action Against Terrorism

EDM number 107 in 2009-10, proposed by Tim Boswell on 19/11/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights and Terrorism.

That this House, while neither tolerating nor condoning the commission of acts of terrorism at home or abroad, emphasises the need for maintaining commitments under the Human Rights Act and the underlying European Convention of Human Rights; welcomes the tone taken by the International Commission of Jurists in its recent report Assessing Damage, Urging Action; specifically commends their analysis that the basic Convention framework with derogations is adequate to maintain security, and that there are real dangers in creep from temporary measures towards permanency, and from the unhelpful concept of a war on terror; calls on the Government to limit actions to measures which are necessary and proportionate; further calls on the Government to avoid acts in breach of the Convention done by proxy, the use of immigration law as a substitute for criminal law, and the abuse of administrative listing processes; and further calls on the Government to take steps to ensure that the actions of intelligence agencies are fully compatible with human rights law and to initiate a process of stocktaking to identify and remedy breaches of human rights principles.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Tim Boswell19/11/2009DaventryConservativeProposed
Robert Marshall-Andrews19/11/2009MedwayLabourSeconded
David Howarth19/11/2009CambridgeLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew Tyrie19/11/2009ChichesterConservativeSeconded
Paul Farrelly19/11/2009Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSeconded
Evan Harris19/11/2009Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lynne Jones19/11/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Andrew George19/11/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley19/11/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
David Taylor23/11/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
Paul Holmes23/11/2009ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn23/11/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson23/11/2009Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
John McDonnell24/11/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan24/11/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Dai Davies25/11/2009Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
John Leech25/11/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Derek Wyatt25/11/2009Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock25/11/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew25/11/2009StroudLabourSigned
Alan Simpson25/11/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Phil Willis25/11/2009Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd26/11/2009Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Martin Caton26/11/2009GowerLabourSigned
Ann Cryer26/11/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
John Hemming26/11/2009Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington30/11/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John Austin01/12/2009Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Malcolm Bruce02/12/2009GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Willie Rennie02/12/2009Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Julia Goldsworthy03/12/2009Falmouth and CamborneLiberal DemocratSigned
Marsha Singh07/12/2009Bradford WestLabourSigned
Eric Illsley07/12/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Jim Cousins07/12/2009Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell07/12/2009Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Danny Alexander07/12/2009Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyLiberal DemocratSigned
Susan Kramer09/12/2009Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling10/12/2009Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
John Mason15/12/2009Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Simon Hughes16/12/2009North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/01/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Andy Reed07/01/2010LoughboroughLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.