Parliament Website

Digital Networks And The Un Convention On The Rights Of The Child

EDM number 111 in 2009-10, proposed by Derek Wyatt on 19/11/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Children and families and Internet and cybercrime.

That this House recognises the important contribution to the lives of young people around the world made by the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child, which recently celebrated the 20th anniversary of its publication; further recognises the dramatic differences that the advancement of digital technology, particularly the internet, has made to children's lives since the publication of the Convention; congratulates the Government, industry and police in the UK on their efforts to provide a safe and stimulating online environment, as well as educating young people on the opportunities and dangers they may come across; and calls on the Government to lead the United Nations in establishing international standards for safe and meaningful access to digital networks under the auspices of the Convention on the Rights of the Child.

This motion has been signed by a total of 51 MPs.

Derek Wyatt19/11/2009Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourProposed
Andrew George19/11/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley19/11/2009Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Lynne Jones19/11/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Glenda Jackson23/11/2009Hampstead and HighgateLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn23/11/2009Islington NorthLabourSeconded
John McDonnell24/11/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Harry Cohen24/11/2009Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Mark Durkan24/11/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Battle24/11/2009Leeds WestLabourSigned
Ian Davidson25/11/2009Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling25/11/2009Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
John Leech25/11/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock25/11/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew25/11/2009StroudLabourSigned
Janet Dean25/11/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Bill Olner25/11/2009NuneatonLabourSigned
Ian McCartney25/11/2009MakerfieldLabourSigned
Alan Simpson25/11/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Betty Williams26/11/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Rudi Vis26/11/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Janet Anderson26/11/2009Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard26/11/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
Mike Gapes26/11/2009Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Martin Caton26/11/2009GowerLabourSigned
Lembit 26/11/2009MontgomeryshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward O'Hara26/11/2009Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Andrew Miller26/11/2009Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins26/11/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer26/11/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Greg Pope30/11/2009HyndburnLabourSigned
Bill Etherington30/11/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Lady Hermon01/12/2009North DownUUPSigned
David Heyes01/12/2009Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
John Austin01/12/2009Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Paul Murphy02/12/2009TorfaenLabourSigned
Frank Cook02/12/2009Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Mike Wood03/12/2009Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Julie Morgan07/12/2009Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley07/12/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Desmond Turner07/12/2009Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
David Anderson07/12/2009BlaydonLabourSigned
Martin Linton08/12/2009BatterseaLabourSigned
Celia Barlow09/12/2009HoveLabourSigned
Susan Kramer09/12/2009Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned
Evan Harris16/12/2009Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/01/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Crausby06/01/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Andy Reed07/01/2010LoughboroughLabourSigned
Russell Brown11/01/2010Dumfries and GallowayLabourSigned
Clive Efford14/01/2010ElthamLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.