Parliament Website

Infrastructure Planning Commission And Nuclear Waste Policy

EDM number 218 in 2009-10, proposed by Paul Flynn on 24/11/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Nuclear power and Planning.

That this House notes that new draft National Policy Statement for Nuclear Power Generation, as published on 9 November 2009, concludes its section on radioactive waste management with the remarkable assertion, at paragraph 3.8.20, that `Having considered this issue, the Government is satisfied that effective arrangements will exist to manage and dispose of the waste that will be produced from new nuclear power stations. As a result the IPC (the Infrastructure Planning Commission) need not consider this question'; considers the implication that the most contentious aspect of new nuclear power is not even going to be examined by the new IPC is democratically unacceptable and will lead to bad public policy; further notes that on the same date an explanatory leaflet distributed by the IPC to Ministers states: `The new IPC process will provide clearer and better opportunities for the public and local communities to get involved from an early stage in decisions that will affect them'; and requests that Ministers allow the IPC to scrutinise plans for radioactive waste management, storage and disposal.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Paul Flynn24/11/2009Newport WestLabourProposed
Mark Durkan24/11/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Lynne Jones24/11/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
David Taylor25/11/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
Mike Hancock25/11/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Dai Davies25/11/2009Blaenau GwentIndependentSeconded
Ronnie Campbell25/11/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Gordon Prentice25/11/2009PendleLabourSigned
Alan Simpson25/11/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Paul Holmes25/11/2009ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn25/11/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley25/11/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Andrew George26/11/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis26/11/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Ann Cryer26/11/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton26/11/2009GowerLabourSigned
Colin Burgon26/11/2009ElmetLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd26/11/2009Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Cousins26/11/2009Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Bill Etherington30/11/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John Leech30/11/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Austin01/12/2009Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
David Chaytor02/12/2009Bury NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling02/12/2009Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Eric Illsley07/12/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell07/12/2009Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard07/12/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/12/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady18/01/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Janet Dean02/02/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Hywel Williams02/02/2010CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Gwyn Prosser08/02/2010DoverLabourSigned
Paul Keetch09/02/2010HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Julie Morgan22/02/2010Cardiff NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.