Parliament Website

Vanishing Of The Bees Film

EDM number 31 in 2009-10, proposed by Bob Spink on 18/11/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Animal diseases.

That this House supports the film Vanishing of the Bees distributed by the Co-operative and publicising the dangers facing a £10 billion industry and a key species; further supports the Co-operative's Plan Bee campaign to raise awareness of the dramatic demise of bees and the various disorders and diseases threatening honeybee hives; notes that although in the UK bees contribute £165 million a year to the economy, this is only a small part of their contribution to sustaining the country's way of life and the way the planet functions, including their crucial role in pollinating some 90 commercial crops worldwide; further notes that the British Beekeepers' Association survey revealed that 30 per cent. of the UK's 240,000 honeybee hives were lost in the winter and spring of 2008 compared to normal yearly losses of around five to 10 per cent.; welcomes the Co-operative's pledge of £150,000 for research into the causes behind the decline of the honeybee and its 10-point plan on prohibiting the use of a group of eight pesticides on own-brand fresh produce, trialling a wildflower seed mix to attract honeybees and raising awareness of the plight of the UK honeybee; welcomes the Government's efforts to tackle the problems; and calls on the Government to redouble those efforts.

This motion has been signed by a total of 57 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Bob Spink18/11/2009Castle PointIndependentProposed
Andrew George18/11/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley19/11/2009Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn19/11/2009Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Alan Simpson19/11/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSeconded
Bob Russell19/11/2009ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Taylor23/11/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
David Heyes23/11/2009Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle23/11/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
John Austin23/11/2009Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Robert Wareing23/11/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Betty Williams23/11/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Hywel Williams24/11/2009CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
Paul Rowen24/11/2009RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan24/11/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Meale24/11/2009MansfieldLabourSigned
John McDonnell24/11/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
David Lepper24/11/2009Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
John Pugh25/11/2009SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea25/11/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
Michael Clapham25/11/2009Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Ann Cryer25/11/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Janet Dean25/11/2009BurtonLabourSigned
David Drew25/11/2009StroudLabourSigned
Phil Willis25/11/2009Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech25/11/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter25/11/2009CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton26/11/2009GowerLabourSigned
Janet Anderson26/11/2009Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Rudi Vis26/11/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Richard Younger-Ross26/11/2009TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd26/11/2009Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Ian McCartney26/11/2009MakerfieldLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty26/11/2009Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins26/11/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Albert Owen26/11/2009Ynys MLabourSigned
Paul Keetch30/11/2009HerefordLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington30/11/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
David Hamilton30/11/2009MidlothianLabourSigned
Roger Williams30/11/2009Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Lady Hermon01/12/2009North DownUUPSigned
Paul Truswell01/12/2009PudseyLabourSigned
Danny Alexander02/12/2009Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyLiberal DemocratSigned
Willie Rennie02/12/2009Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson03/12/2009East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell07/12/2009Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson07/12/2009BlaydonLabourSigned
Colin Challen09/12/2009Morley and RothwellLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling10/12/2009Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
David Crausby14/12/2009Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Evan Harris16/12/2009Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins05/01/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Andy Reed07/01/2010LoughboroughLabourSigned
Vincent Cable14/01/2010TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned
Kim Howells20/01/2010PontypriddLabourSigned
Shona McIsaac20/01/2010CleethorpesLabourSigned
Edward Davey21/01/2010Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.