Parliament Website

Impact Of The Food Supplements Directive

EDM number 336 in 2009-10, proposed by Brian Iddon on 02/12/2009.
Categorised under the topics of EU law and treaties and Food.

That this House notes that after much delay proposals for maximum permitted levels for vitamins and minerals in food supplements under Article 5 of the Food Supplements Directive are expected to be published by the European Commission in early 2010; further notes that despite efforts from the UK Government and Food Standards Agency the levels remain likely to be set in a disproportionately restrictive way and will have a devastating impact on the UK health food industry; welcomes the recent impact assessment carried out by the Health Food Manufacturers' Association and the National Association of Health Stores to quantify the impact that the setting of maximum permitted levels will have on UK businesses; expresses its profound concern that the impact assessment suggests that the setting of maximum permitted levels could potentially lead to the loss of well over £100 million worth of sales, the closure of more than 700 independent retail stores and around 4,000 job losses; fears that smaller specialist manufacturers and retailers will be the hardest hit by this legislation; suggests that this process will restrict the choice to British consumers and leave such consumers exposed to the additional risks of buying products from unregulated overseas suppliers through the internet and mail order; and invites the Government to redouble its efforts in Europe to safeguard the future of the UK health food industry and the continued availability of safe, higher potency food supplements that have been on the UK market for decades.

This motion has been signed by a total of 64 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

David Taylor02/12/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
Brian Iddon02/12/2009Bolton South EastLabourProposed
Kate Hoey02/12/2009VauxhallLabourSeconded
Andrew Dismore02/12/2009HendonLabourSeconded
Frank Cook02/12/2009Stockton NorthLabourSeconded
Jo Swinson02/12/2009East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSeconded
John Leech02/12/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew George02/12/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Philip Davies02/12/2009ShipleyConservativeSigned
Nicholas Winterton03/12/2009MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Derek Wyatt03/12/2009Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Mark Durkan03/12/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Drew03/12/2009StroudLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds03/12/2009Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Alan Meale03/12/2009MansfieldLabourSigned
Lynne Jones03/12/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
John Pugh03/12/2009SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Prentice03/12/2009PendleLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn03/12/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Malcolm Moss07/12/2009North East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Betty Williams07/12/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock07/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard07/12/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
Nigel Evans07/12/2009Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Ann Cryer07/12/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Eric Illsley07/12/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins07/12/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
Marsha Singh07/12/2009Bradford WestLabourSigned
Ian Cawsey08/12/2009Brigg and GooleLabourSigned
Martin Caton08/12/2009GowerLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell08/12/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Colin Breed08/12/2009South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke08/12/2009Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Holmes08/12/2009ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Olner08/12/2009NuneatonLabourSigned
David Simpson09/12/2009Upper BannDUPSigned
Gordon Marsden09/12/2009Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
William McCrea09/12/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
John McDonnell09/12/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell09/12/2009Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell09/12/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Janet Dean09/12/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Iris Robinson10/12/2009StrangfordDUPWithdrawn
Brian Jenkins10/12/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis10/12/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Linda Riordan10/12/2009HalifaxLabourSigned
Nick Harvey14/12/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris McCafferty05/01/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham07/01/2010Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff12/01/2010Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
David Crausby21/01/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Clare Short26/01/2010Birmingham, LadywoodIndependent LabourSigned
Edward O'Hara02/02/2010Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Patrick Hall05/02/2010BedfordLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz09/02/2010Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Julie Morgan10/02/2010Cardiff NorthLabourSigned
Desmond Turner22/02/2010Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Mark Hunter22/02/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Gary Streeter24/02/2010South West DevonConservativeSigned
Paul Truswell02/03/2010PudseyLabourSigned
Celia Barlow02/03/2010HoveLabourSigned
David Chaytor17/03/2010Bury NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling30/03/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.