Parliament Website

Industrial Action Balloting Procedures

EDM number 710 in 2009-10, proposed by John McDonnell on 26/01/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Industrial relations.

That this House acknowledges that the anti-trade union laws currently in place have led to the deplorable situation of unions having fewer rights to take industrial action now than they did in 1906; expresses its disappointment that the complex rules regarding balloting procedures which are a great financial and bureaucratic burden to trade unions have not been repealed; further notes the unnecessary requirement that trade unions must give notice to an employer both of a ballot for action and of the date when an industrial action will commence; believes that simplifying the rules regarding balloting procedures and notice periods would alleviate the unfair restrictions placed on industrial action and therefore promote more effective representation of workers; and calls on the Government to do everything in its power to ensure that the anti-trade union laws of the past are not allowed to continue into the future.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

John McDonnell26/01/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Andrew Dismore26/01/2010HendonLabourSeconded
David Crausby26/01/2010Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Katy Clark26/01/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Neil Gerrard26/01/2010WalthamstowLabourSeconded
Austin Mitchell26/01/2010Great GrimsbyLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer26/01/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling26/01/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Martin Caton27/01/2010GowerLabourSigned
Robert Wareing27/01/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
David Drew27/01/2010StroudLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell27/01/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Lynne Jones27/01/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson27/01/2010Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Joan Humble27/01/2010Blackpool North and FleetwoodLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice27/01/2010PendleLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn28/01/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins28/01/2010TamworthLabourSigned
John Mason28/01/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Harry Cohen29/01/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn29/01/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock01/02/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington02/02/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Colin Burgon02/02/2010ElmetLabourSigned
Alan Simpson03/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins03/02/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd03/02/2010Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Dobbin03/02/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Linda Riordan03/02/2010HalifaxLabourSigned
Jim Devine03/02/2010LivingstonLabourSigned
Ken Purchase04/02/2010Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
Paul Truswell05/02/2010PudseyLabourSigned
David Hamilton08/02/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Michael Clapham10/02/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Eric Illsley10/02/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Jim Dowd24/02/2010Lewisham WestLabourSigned
Gwyn Prosser29/03/2010DoverLabourSigned
Marsha Singh29/03/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
George Howarth29/03/2010Knowsley North and Sefton EastLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham29/03/2010Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff29/03/2010Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Dai Havard30/03/2010Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas30/03/2010DagenhamLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner06/04/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Joan Walley06/04/2010Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Mike Wood06/04/2010Batley and SpenLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.