Parliament Website

Forced Marriages

EDM number 132 in 2010-12, proposed by Mike Hancock on 02/06/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Marriage.

That this House acknowledges the excellent work done by the Forced Marriage Unit, the police and local authorities across the country to combat forced marriage and to protect victims of honour-based violence; recognises and welcomes the legal precedent set by Article 12 of the European Convention on Human Rights, yet regretfully notes the complete lack of prosecutions of perpetrators under this Act; further recognises that forced marriage is present across many faiths and cultures and is a growing issue in the United Kingdom; finds it disgraceful that there is no specific criminal offence in England and Wales of forcing someone to marry; and urges the Government to introduce legislative proposals that will criminalise the act of forcing a British citizen into a marriage against their will or without their explicit and freely-given consent.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Mike Hancock02/06/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratProposed
Andrew George02/06/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Glenda Jackson03/06/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSeconded
Andrew Gwynne03/06/2010Denton and ReddishLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley03/06/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
John Pugh07/06/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn07/06/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn07/06/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Keith Vaz07/06/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Philip Davies07/06/2010ShipleyConservativeSigned
Andrew Stephenson07/06/2010PendleConservativeSigned
Elfyn Llwyd08/06/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Martin Caton08/06/2010GowerLabourSigned
Vernon Coaker08/06/2010GedlingLabourSigned
John Leech08/06/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jonathan Edwards09/06/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Angela Eagle09/06/2010WallaseyLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn09/06/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Menzies Campbell09/06/2010North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell10/06/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming10/06/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Stewart Jackson14/06/2010PeterboroughConservativeSigned
William McCrea15/06/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Eric Illsley17/06/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Diana Johnson17/06/2010Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Margaret Hodge21/06/2010BarkingLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman22/06/2010HuddersfieldLabourSigned
David Hamilton23/06/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell29/06/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gregory Campbell29/06/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
John McDonnell30/06/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Robert Flello07/07/2010Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma08/07/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Lady Hermon12/07/2010North DownIndependentSigned
David Ward08/11/2010Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.