Parliament Website

Best Practice In Tackling Antisemitism And Hate Speech In Higher Education

EDM number 1376 in 2010-12, proposed by John Mann on 31/01/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Higher education and Religion and faith communities.

That this House notes the All-Party Parliamentary Inquiry into Antisemitism's 2006 report and the section on Antisemitism in Higher Education and its five recommendations; further notes the recent third Government response to the inquiry report; welcomes the ongoing reviews of academic freedom by Universities UK, the National Union of Students and the work of the Equality Challenge Unit in addressing questions of under-reporting of campus antisemitism; further welcomes improved reporting of incidents through the Community Security Trust and Union of Jewish Students; further notes with concern continuing reports on the radicalisation and racial incitement caused by speakers on campus; is concerned that little progress has been made on the question of hate speech since the All-Party Parliamentary Inquiry into Antisemitism; believes that more can and should be done by theDepartment for Business, Innovation and Skills, higher education institutions and the sector as a whole on this matter; applauds the decisions that have been taken to regulate events likely to breach the peace, radicalise students or incite hatred; calls for more progress with greater urgency in the creation of a wide-ranging policy to help university vice chancellors and student union representatives deal effectively with speaker invitations and hate speech; and calls on university authorities to establish practical guides to dealing with speakers on campus based on the best practice demonstrated by Manchester University in its speaker guidelines.

This motion has been signed by a total of 52 MPs.

John Mann31/01/2011BassetlawLabourProposed
Mark Durkan31/01/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Peter Bottomley01/02/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Graham Stringer01/02/2011Blackley and BroughtonLabourSeconded
Marsha Singh01/02/2011Bradford WestLabourSeconded
Robert Halfon01/02/2011HarlowConservativeSeconded
Jim Shannon01/02/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Nicholas Dakin02/02/2011ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Mike Gapes02/02/2011Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Paul Goggins02/02/2011Wythenshawe and Sale EastLabourSigned
Mike Hancock02/02/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Winnick02/02/2011Walsall NorthLabourSigned
John Leech02/02/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Aldous02/02/2011WaveneyConservativeSigned
Julian Huppert02/02/2011CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Lisa Nandy02/02/2011WiganLabourSigned
Mike Weatherley02/02/2011HoveConservativeSigned
Karen Buck02/02/2011Westminster NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Lloyd02/02/2011EastbourneLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Mearns02/02/2011GatesheadLabourSigned
Louise Ellman02/02/2011Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Clive Efford02/02/2011ElthamLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson02/02/2011Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Martin Caton02/02/2011GowerLabourSigned
William McCrea02/02/2011South AntrimDUPSigned
Denis MacShane02/02/2011RotherhamLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd02/02/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn02/02/2011JarrowLabourSigned
David Simpson02/02/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Joan Ruddock02/02/2011Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Margaret Ritchie02/02/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Tom Brake03/02/2011Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming03/02/2011Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke03/02/2011Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Graham Brady03/02/2011Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSigned
Roberta Blackman-Woods03/02/2011City of DurhamLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins04/02/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Greg Mulholland04/02/2011Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell07/02/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham07/02/2011Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Naomi Long08/02/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Michael Weir09/02/2011AngusScottish National PartySigned
Lady Hermon10/02/2011North DownIndependentSigned
Elfyn Llwyd10/02/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
David Crausby10/02/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds10/02/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Andrew George10/02/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan10/02/2011HalifaxLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell28/02/2011RomfordConservativeSigned
Gregory Campbell08/03/2011East LondonderryDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell17/03/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gordon Henderson05/04/2011Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.